We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay at Graceland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel to your Saves list
Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent stay at Graceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Heartbreak hotel, even after reading some mixed reviews. The lobby was nice. The check in staff was not rude or unhelpful, but indiffernent. The hotel is showing its age. I noticed it most in the hallways. Our room was large, with a seating area and small kitchen. The room was clean, but the air conditioner did give off an unpleasant odor that we did eventually get used to but still yuck. The pool was nice, especially during the quiet swim at night. We had read that many people disliked the Jungle room/bartender. The setup was weird -- you order at the bar. No wait staff. But that considered the bartender has to do all the waiting on tables and the bar.. Give the guy a break! We sat and talked with him for quiet a while and he seemed just fine. My biggest complaint was the breakfast. Sparce and cold. But you can't beat the location (which was not a bad neighborhood as we had read) and even my husband, who is not a huge Elvis fan, caught the Elvis fever!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely value your comments and appreciate the suggestions. We would greatly appreciate any additional feedback you could provide to help us remedy your experience. For more information or to contact us direct, please email graceland@elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    328
    263
    167
    131
See reviews for
315
464
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here recently for a 3 night stay and it wasnt an option as far as I was concerned u need to do this hotel for obvious reasons. We arrived late and the checkin staff on duty were expecting us. This took minimal time and I was concerned that a notice on the dest read Credit Card Scam... hmmmm not good for a first impression :( this maybe could have been discussed rather than advertised...? I hadnt read any reviews on this hotel but new it was only rated a 3 star. Anyway efficient check in we got to our room on the 5th floor and on entering the noise from the A/C unit was LOUD!! There were a few bulbs out in the room but after our 8 hours train journey from New Orleans all we needed was our bed. Very big room sofa lounge area through a small kitchen area with tea/coffee complimentary and a fridge/microwave...into the bedroom...huge kingsize bed clean but very basic and then a bathroom with shower. I will say the towels were excellent which seems to be a neccesity on my hols :) I had noticed the hotel was non smoking but there was a distinct smell of cigarettes in our corridor and room during our stay which i found offensive. (I did get used to it after a couple of days but not good if your anti smoker) I think is was coming from the A/C unit...??? This was our last stay on a 3 centre holiday and on first impressions a little dissapointing. Anyway after a good night sleep we went down for complimentary breakfast which was good... juice coffee/tea croisants doughnuts eggs toast yoghurts etc. The hotel was really quirky and was Elvis through and through 2 Tvs in your room big screen in the breakfast room continuous Elvis music but you didnt ever get enough of this amazing legend!! It just got better a walk across the carpark and your in Gracelands which was awesome. There is a free complimentary shuttle to the airport and they provide a shuttle into town on a night this is around 15 mins drive away..this was $10 dollars per person return. Book in advance... there is a free bus into town duing the day to the attractions which gives you transport between the attractions in town...this could have been explained more from reception as its around $28 taxi oneway into town!! so organise your day using the free transport. You can go to Rock and Soul Museum...walk to the Peabody Hotel back to the museum for the free shuttle and then onto Sun Studios and back to the hotel taking in other things in your own time. saves your taxi fare... they need to tell customers about this.... All in all a good stay basic rooms but really quirky and worth it for the location to Gracelands.

Room Tip: A/C i would imagine is the same in all rooms just basic units noisey.... high floor less noisey mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. If you have any additional concerns or suggestions - please email: Graceland@Elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Saw a lot of bad reviews before staying here. Obviously the big draw is it's proximity to Graceland, and to be honest there's not much else. Staff are friendly but the hotel is just run down (not dirty). It seems they're content to not put much into it as long as we're all content to keep handing over our money. It is about on par with your run of the mill Super 8.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely value your comments and appreciate the suggestions. We would greatly appreciate any additional feedback you could provide to help us improve our guest experience. For more information or to contact us direct, please email graceland@elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here because it was so close to Graceland. I wish I had done a little more research because it turns out there is another hotel right on the other side of Graceland Plaza, so it was just as close. I think it was a Days Inn, but I am not sure about that. First off, most of the staff here were really not friendly. One exception is the gift shop where they were very friendly and one slightly older gentleman who might have been a custodian or handyman. Second, as you can see from these photos, this hotel is just not clean, especially the bathrooms. The windows were filthy and so were the bathrooms. I admit that the Elvis theme was fun, they were showing Elvis shows in the bar area every evening. I would just prefer a clean hotel to a dirty one with a gimmick. I did feel very safe here because there was a security guard that you had to pass by to get into the parking lot. I am pretty sure that other hotel (Days Inn?) was also gated, though. The morning breakfast was acceptable. The highlight was seeing an Elvis impersonator go through the line in his bathrobe. The room was quiet and the mattress was very poor quality. I liked having a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely value your thoughts, comments and suggestions. We would greatly appreciate any additional feedback you could provide to help us remedy your experience. For more information or to contact us direct, please email graceland@elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in April and from the mixed reviews did not know what to expect. However arrived by rental car and was impressed by the security guards to the property, who were very helpful and always gave us a wave as we entered and left the premises. The foyer is what you expect,all glitz and Elvis,although some furniture is showing signs of wear. Reception staff on the whole were helpful but I did have to query what they said as to fully understand what they meant. Room was on the ground floor and had a separate lounge and bedroom with a small kitchenette in the middle of the two. Again decor and furniture was worn but the bed was very comfee. Room was clean and serviced daily. However we had to turn off the air conditioning as it was so loud we could not sleep. Breakfast was as others have said self service on plastic plates etc but toast,bagels and eggs were plentiful. Tea and coffee was available all day in the dining room. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast but what we saw looked adequate. From the hotel you can walk to Gracelands and its exhibits and this is why we chose this hotel for its location, which cannot be faulted. Whilst at the hotel we were able to take advantage of the free Wi Fi in the lobby. I have read recently thast the company which owns Elvis Presley Inc will built a new hotel and this cannot be too soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Plus side

Nice large room and bed
Lovely clean bedding and towels
Good breakfast with plenty of choice
Nice pool area
Good location for Gracelands
Pleasant staff
Quiet - great nights sleep

Bad side

The air con was noisy ( but there again no worse than the other hotels we stayed in on our holiday
The room did have a slight musty smell and a dampness to it but I put it down to the climate more than anything else
Shuttle bus to downtown Memphis was 5 dollars each way for each person however you book the time you want to go down however it first come first served on the way back and it was full at 9.30 when we wanted to go back so ended up paying for a taxi back which was about 25 dollars . After that we took our hire car down and paid a few dollars for parking.

The bathrooms although clean are a little dated but none of the bad points put us off and we enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would greatly appreciate any additional feedback you could provide to help us improve our guest experience. For more information or to contact us direct, please email graceland@elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel but was disappointed on arrival as it looks like it was built in the 1970's and not updated since. Poor restaurant, old rooms and in a bad neighbourhood. The only positive was that it was next door to Graceland.

Room Tip: Don't stay there but stay in Memphis as it is only a 10 minute shuttle bus ride to Graceland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisPresleyEntp, Guest Relations Manager at Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely value your thoughts, comments and suggestions. We would greatly appreciate any additional feedback you could provide to help us remedy your experience. For more information or to contact us direct, please email graceland@elvis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Address: 3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel is a fashionable boutique hotel that takes its cues from the legendary hospitality and personal style for which the King of Rock 'n' Roll was known. Heartbreak Hotel features 128 rooms and is located conveniently across the street from Elvis Presley's Graceland. The hotel offers numerous amenities to make sure your stay is memorable and is located near the Memphis International Airport, making it one of the best Memphis hotel deals around. Stay at one of the most rockin’ hotels in Memphis, Tennessee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartbreak Hotel Memphis
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Memphis
Hotel Elvis Presleys Heartbreak
Elvis Presley Heartbreak Hotel
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.