We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty and grimey” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center

Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2240 Democrat Road, Memphis, TN 38132 (Formerly Memphis Airport Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #73 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Belfast, N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old, dirty and grimey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving late in the night after a long flight and long day, I was very disappointed to arrive at this hotel. When you arrive into the hotel it is like stepping back in time. A very strange layout of a hotel and very old and dated. The rooms were not good and I was given to my surprise a disabled room and had to shower in the morning sitting on a seat which I did not appreciate. The floor in the bedroom was sticky....not sure what my feet were sticking to. Bathrooms very basic, dated and not the cleanest either. Breakfast in the morning looked like it was thrown together and is in a very dirty station. I didn't bother eating breakfast because of this. Would I stay here again? Most definately not. The worst thing is that I am a platinum card holder, received no recognition or free water etc. not good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
5
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent three nights at this hotel in April. Our room was clean and family quiet. No problem with hot water. However, where is the management when almost every table in the dining room are in the morning and the one server is standing idly around? Management needs to have a keener eye to the small details such as the dying shrubs at the entrance that were never covered with soil, also a little more decorating in the aisle leading to the washrooms. A few fake plants don't really count as decor. One highlife was Brian the shuttle driver. Very personable fellow and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in there yesterday for a 4 night stay. Service at the restaurant was TERRIBLE. Basically were ignored for quite a while while others were seated and helped. Could guess why that is, but won't do that here.
The bathroom was just gross. Grimy counter and pubic hair on the toilet. The shower had no hot water and was clogged. I left this morning with the tub full of cold water, not draining.
Checked out after one night. The front desk clerk asked why. I told her about the bathroom. Her response was, "Have a nice day." She wasn't interested.
My advice to anyone looking at this hotel...Don't do it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. But there was nothing special. If you are just looking for a comfortable bed, then this hotel is fine. Surrounding neighborhood is nothing to write home about. Definitely better suited for a business trip.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your most recent review of the hotel Michael.

We are located on the Memphis Airport Property and have over 40,000 square feet of convention space. We do host many corporate functions and during the week we see many corporate travelers, however we also are just a short 10 minute drive to Graceland as well 15 minutes to downtown memphis. We feel like we are in a perfect location! We also have a complimentary shuttle that will run within 5 miles of the hotel.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient to airport. Large property with very large open atrium with meeting areas, dining area and bar. Rooms are large and have been updated in the past few years. Good lighting and lots of electric plugs. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free wifi that worked OK. The downsides are that it is an older property that is just not very convenient. There is no place to park while checking in so you have to park around the sides or back and hike a good way to the elevated front entrance, passing through a large crowd of smokers. Then you have to bump your suitcases up a short staircase to get to the huge lobby. There were other groups of people talking and drinking in the lobby and the sound echos loudly around the atrium. Breakfast buffet ($10.95) with a selection of Southern breakfast items. Although I had no real problems, I will probably look for another property next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "teens" which is a far away from the lobby and bar as possible. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Jim for your review of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a couple of issues.

The hotel is 100% non smoking and we have recently moved our designated smoking area to the side of the building. Our security staff is doing their best to move people towards that designated area.

The hotel was fully renovated in July of 2014 and most people love the new look!

Please let us host you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Memphis.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's not your usual Holiday Inn "look". But the rooms are spacious, clean and there wasn't any noise level to complain about where I stayed (4th floor). There was a large convention at the time of our arrival and the hotel was MAXED out. But considering the amount of people there, I thought the hotel and staff handled it quiet well.. The bar and restaurant was also nice. Also a big plus the hotel is close to a lot of tourist attractions. Beale St, Graceland, Civil Rights Museum and etc. I will be back in May and already had another positive interaction with the Manager before even coming back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are proud of the recent renovation and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was comfortable, and the bar was nice, but the desk staff took forever to get people checked it. There was always a line to wait in at the front desk, and we once waited a 1/2 hour to get to talk to the staff. The hotel was near the airport, and was fairly modern, but it wasn't really within walking distance to restaurants, etc. You could hear planes overhead while in your room, but I ran the AC for the white noise and it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: The top (5th) floor was pretty noisy...maybe stay on the lower floors for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. The hotel is located on the Memphis Airport property and subsequently it can be noisy during the day. In the evening the air traffic does slow down and we always have complimentary ear plugs available at our front desk, should you need them.

I am sorry that the line at the desk was long. We have three front desk associates on during peak times, however since the hotel is nearly sold out on a daily basis, lines can sometimes become a bit long. We try to move everyone through within 5 minutes. I have addressed this with the executive team and they are ensuring that more staff will be added during heavy check in and out times.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2240 Democrat Road, Memphis, TN 38132 (Formerly Memphis Airport Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's multi-million dollar renovation brings contemporary style and artful detail to life with modern furnishings, bold use of color, and a glimpse of all things Memphis throughout. We're conveniently located in the Heart of Memphis, just two short miles away from the Memphis International Airport. With over 256 deluxe guest rooms and 33k square feet of meeting space, you'll find yourself at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Airport Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.