We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury for a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peabody Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Peabody Memphis to your Saves list
The Peabody Memphis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent spot to be able to walk to nearly everything. You are close to Beale Street, restaurants, downtown. The restaurants and bar in the lobby are very classy and worth visiting. There is a store (Lansky's) that is attached to the hotel, and worthwhile stopping by because of unique finds and sale items. The rooms are very comfortable, and the pool and gym are staffed and pleasant. The ducks in the fountain are the prime attraction and keep the hotel busy close to 11 and 5, but the crowd clears pretty quickly once the ducks arrive or depart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    429
    188
    89
    57
See reviews for
269
509
61
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice, with an elegant lobby and well-appointed rooms. There is also a great bar. The gym was big and had a variety of cardio and nautilus equipment. Staff was professional and attentive.
It is in an excellent location with restaurants, shopping and nightlife all within walking distance. It's a great hotel for a romantic weekend. Also good for families with small children as they will love the ducks.
I ate at Chez Philippe, which is one of the restaurants located inside the hotel. The food and service in the restaurant were also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent downtown location within walking distance of Beale Street. We booked an exec king with b'fast included in the package. The room was recently refurbished and spotless, good size and very comfortable with walk in wardrobe. B'fast was very good. Omelettes cooked to order & good buffet. Service excelled. Had two waitresses who made sure nothing was too much trouble. watched the march of the ducks & whilst a good bit of fun a bit OTT for 5 ducks getting in an elevator to the roof top duck palace. It is so popular either get there at least 1 hour before & have a drink in the bar or watch from the 2nd floor opposite the elevators to get a good view. Not cheap but good value for what we got quality wise.

Room Tip: Exec rooms give extra space & worth the money if it is space you crave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear HampshireSmally,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our breakfast buffet in Capriccio Grill. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely hotel! I've stayed here numerous times for buisness travel. As I work 3rd shift it is difficult to find quiet surroundings to accommodate my sleep schedule. One thing that I need from a hotel is quiet. Maybe a $20 door closer from Lowes would help keep the inconsiderate from continuously slamming the doors. The renovation was beautiful, but the doors are very loud. People don't care if they disturb their neighbor, so the hotel inherits the liability. Sorry, but I have to say, if it was my choice, I'd stay somewhere else. Peace and quiet, a quest I long for! If you stay here to get some rest, good luck. Other than that, the ducks are cool. Until Phil and Willie Robertson show up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Pushrod,

Thank you for your recent business travels to The Peabody. I am pleased that you appreciated the recent renovations which included new noise-reducing doors and windows. They block out a significant amount of exterior noise, but a neighbor loudly slamming their door may be an exception . I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I hope that upon your next visit if you have a similar neighbor situation, that you’d please contact our front desk.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the ducks, the lobby and Lansky's store at the Peabody. Room was very chic - great old plaster molding with luxurious updates. Bought the Graceland package. Fun stay!

The spa and pool in the basement were nice, though smaller than I expected.

The billing was a bit confusing. I had pre-paid, but received an "amount due" bill under my door in the morning. The desk apologized and said there was nothing owed, but as I booked online, I don't know why there was a delay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Elvis’ Blue Suede Package. Our Specials and Packages are a great way to stay at The Peabody while enjoying Memphis attractions. Many of the packages include tickets to local attractions, round of golf at Mirimichi or trolley passes. I apologize for the confusion with your billing, but glad our front desk was able to swiftly correct the error. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were told to stay at this hotel by some friends and we are glad we did.Excellent location and handy to all the local amenities.The rooms were a bit small but very clean and the service staff were excellent. Dont go there just for the ducks as you will be disappointed.Being there during Elvis week was a lot more fun

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear kruuza,

I am glad that you were referred to The Peabody by friends, and enjoyed your stay during Elvis Week. As you know The Peabody served as a backdrop to many of Elvis’ life events including, attending senior prom in our Continental Ballroom, and signing his first contract with RCA in our Grand Lobby. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous hotel. Staff top-notch, gorgeous rooms, just a lovely hotel. The ducks were the icing on the cake!!! Was there for work but will definitely return for pleasure. Great location close to action-packed Beale St.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Teresa D,

Thank you for your kind review. I’m glad you enjoyed your business trip to Memphis and The Peabody. We appreciate the pictures you included with your review, and hope you visit the “South’s Grand Hotel” again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#8 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peabody Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.