We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much bang for your buck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Memphis to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Memphis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So much bang for your buck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It doesn't look like it from the outside, but the rooms are huge! Couch area, separate area with a fridge and microwave, spacious sink area, big comfortable bed... All for about 70 bucks. I've stayed in smaller rooms of equal comfort for way more.

Not far from downtown. 5 minute drive, 8 dollar cab ride (if you need it.) The people who run the place are very helpful as far as directing you to the nearest laundromat, grocery stores, and local sights. Breakfast is standard for a motel (toast, coffee) but that was expected... The great value for this place was not! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    62
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
60
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in January 2013. The room was very large and had all of the amenities I needed. I loved the kind size bed and the granite sink countertops added a bit of luxury. The location was perfect and very close to downtown and Beale st. The staff were very friendly and professional. I would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this hotel to others.

Mo Kesh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not much from the outside, but everything you need at an amazing price. The rooms are huge, decor modern, sheets and pillows very comfortable. It has all the little things you want .. continental breakfast if you are in great need.. typical of lower end hotels... but free. There is a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, fold out couch, table, desk... and at $50 to $80 depending on season.... amazing deal. It is close to downtown and midtown. The family who owns it takes care of you and is really nice. Almost feels like you are going to stay at "their place" not at a hotel. It has been upgraded recently, so ignore older reviews. If you want to stay awhile it is good value, if you want to go see a show and not drive home from memphis it is affordable.

Room Tip: Just because it is not the most expensive area, when traveling alone I like an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we pulled into the parking lot, but we were not expecting Memphis to be as, well, scary as it is to us. We're not soft travelers (we've been to NYC, shady parts of Philly, etc) but we didn't exactly feel safe in most parts of Memphis. This hotel made us feel safe and comfortable, and was in a less scary area than other hotels. The parking lot has cameras, the doors of the rooms have bolts, and we felt safe while staying there. The rooms were fabulous - absolutely to die for at this price. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the room was equipped with a fridge, table, and microwave. Definitely a lot for your money. It is also about 10min away from downtown Memphis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you're looking for a budget place to spend the night in Memphis without wanting to go miles and miles from downtown, this might be the place for you. The hotel, though certainly not in walking distance from downtown is only some 10-15 minutes to downtown by car. The outside of the motel is downright grim as is the neighborhood. It's right across the street from the parking lot of a major hospital and the parking spaces are just off the sidewalk so make sure you lock you car doors! The rooms are fair size and adequate. There is a good Internet connection but the room phones cannot accept outsize calls. My wife called during the evening and the man at the desk walked over to my room, knocked on my door and handed me his cell-phone! He told me that since everyone has a cell-phone nowadays, the management decided to limit the phone service in the rooms to local calls.
If you're on a VERY low budget and are not too, too picky, the Rodeway might just be your ticket!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is about 2 miles from Downtown and not a good walk. The hotel is a little run down and not particularly clean, the safety catch on the room door was broken. The breakfast area is cramped and again not what I'd call clean. The staff were indifferent our initial contact the staff didn't appear to understand me and had to refer me to a younger member. Therefore unless you're on a very limited budget I'd avoid this spot.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, MS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an inexpensive place that is close to downtown. When you first drive up, I have to say that it does look a bit "scary." However, it is right across the road from a hospital parking structure. I never saw anything outside that made me worry though. But, then again, I'm not going to be prowling around at night on the streets of Memphis. The hotel staff was very nice and pleasant. The room was very large, clean, and spacious. It also came with a mini-fridge in the room. Very nice if you want to keep some drinks in your room. I only stayed one night but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Memphis

Address: 1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Memphis Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.