We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Memphis

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Memphis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Memphis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Humboldt, Tennessee
1 review
“Do Not Stay Here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to Beale Street and more on the affordable side. The room was a nice size, and I appreciated the chairs. However, the room was freezing! Evem putting the air conditioner on low in 100 degree weather, I was wrapped up in a blanket. I would advise just to put it on fan. The comfort of the bed was comparable with the price of the room, so be advised if you have back or joint problems. The cable did not work the day that we stayed, and when I called the front desk about it, I got no apology. He acted as if he could care less. On checkin, the bathroom only had about 15 sheets of toilet paper on the roll, it took twenty minutes for them to bring me a roll, the employee didn't even speak, just knocked on the door and handed it to me and walked off. The wifi is extremely poor, I couldn't even check my email. I saw a roach crawling on the wall in the room. There was no coffeemaker or sofa sleeper as advertised. We did not have an iron or ironing board either. Don't bother opening the curtains because all you will see is a parking structure. Also, on coming back to the room at night, we saw a couple of prostitutes working the corner the motel is sitting on. We will not stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
60
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a meat & potatoes property, no frills like fitness room, pool, biz center or guest laundry. The rooms were recently remodeled and thus very clean and comfortable. With easy parking right in front, this motel is a perfect economy-friendly place to stay for a night while in town. Very close to downtown, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Other reviewers have already commented on cleanliness, so I will focus on the helpful management. We had a problem with our room that required a move to a different room. We received a new room immediately (10 pm), and were not charged for one night. The owners were attentive to any problems we had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Well situated for visiting Graceland and Beale str. Nice big room with all amenities, but a little old. The lobby could use a work over and some cleaning. No ice machine and ice had to be requested at the front desk, only half a bucket available. Nothing special, so I wonder why they have a tripadvisor excellence reward, there are many more inns like this one, that could be rated the same.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor. By error I rated the swimming pool, there is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Beds were new and had clean linens. No polyester bed covers, which is good. They can be gross at other hotels. Covered with an extra sheet.

The room was very large and had 2 queen beds, a small table and chairs, couch, mini fridge and microwave. The mirrors were pretty, flat screen tv and sink with marble counters. They had the opposite vibe for the feel of the walls and flooring which were dirty and damaged.

Google maps had a difficult time finding the address. Close to beale street and sun studio, though.

Complimentary breakfast was pretty good. Cereal, muffins, oatmeal, danishes, waffle maker, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juice, bagels and sausage available.

Price is right, would stay again if they cleaned the carpets.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is a clean hotel. Even though you might not be so impressed by the lobby (very small) they are are very accomodating and helpful. Rooms are clean. They have only few tables in the lobby/breakfast area but it is ok. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Owner called at 4:57 pm est on day of arrival (had confirmation several days before) and cancelled our rooms for the night. He said that I gave him a bad review last year when we stayed and he didn't want us there. I did not review this hotel, but maybe someone in my party did under my name since they were reserved in my name. We had 2 rooms last year and requested 2 rooms this year. If the owner didn't want to accept the reservation, he could have done at time of phone call days before. We even received a confirmation email. He knew we had a pet so he wanted until the last minute, but we were able to find a Motel 6 at exit 20 that accepted pets at no additional charge, he charges $25. The motel we stayed was being renovated under new ownership and it was nice for a 1 night stay. Saved enough money on the 2 rooms and no pet charge to pay for dinner for 3, so it didn't turn out bad after all. Just wanted others to know what kind of ownership Rodeway Inn has.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Memphis

Address: 1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Memphis 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Memphis Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.