We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs

Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs
4381 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116-6407 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)
901-332-4159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am not a huge bbq fan but wanted to get the full experience. I tried the pulled pork baked potato and it was amazing! Wanted to go back the next day to get another. The reason they are not getting a five is I ordered a Blue Hawiian and it had to much alcohol, normally wouldn't complain but they said they often get that complaint and brought me more mix. Very highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    146
    66
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service at a decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am stuffed and taking home some for lunch tomorrow. The service was as good as the food very kind and great attitudes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyMarlowes, Owner at Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Mostly, thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The Food AND the Memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The food is top notch. The BBQ (remember that you are in Memphis and the Q is pork although they also have beef on the menu) is excellent. The Beef Tips were an unexpectedly tasty treat. While the food is certainly praiseworthy and worth the trip alone, go to enjoy the Elvis memorabilia and the small Elvis souvenir store. Marlowe's is a absolute must visit for me whenever in Memphis.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyMarlowes, Owner at Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I really appreciate your kind review. My parents opened this restaurant in 1974, so I really try hard. Reading your review reminds me why I love this business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The greatest ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We ate there both evenings that we stayed in Memphis. The ribs were terrific and we also enjoyed the sides, especially the burgundy mushrooms. Fred waited on us the first night and provided 5 star service. The second night our meals were excellent again, but our wait was longer and the service not quite as good. We had returned our rental car that evening so we took their free pink limo ride back to our hotel. That was the only downside of our experience there, as we had to wait a half hour after our meal for our ride back to the hotel.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyMarlowes, Owner at Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I really appreciate your comments. I will let Fred know how much you enjoyed his service. I will work on the speed of the limo's return to the hotel. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We took the pink limo from the Heartbreak Hotel. It was probably worth visiting for the limo ride alone. We had a decent meal; very good service. It was a great way to start a week long visit to Tennessee. Good place to take kids.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyMarlowes, Owner at Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I hope your trip to Tennessee was good. I wish you safe travels and hope to have you as a customer again. I will work on being the BEST BBQ in Memphis until then.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs also viewed

 

Been to Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.