We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Luling TX for good BBQ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs

Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs
4381 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116-6407 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)
901-332-4159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go to Luling TX for good BBQ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The brisket was very thinly dliced, the ribs lacked meat, the beans and slaw were good. I would NOT eat here. The limo pick up was convient.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    146
    66
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lots of Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We pigged out...we got a sampler with fried pickles, fried green tomatoes, fried chicken strips and fried corn fritters. Did I say fried? Then we had our meals. I had the pulled pork sandwich and fries, which was good. My husband had fried pork chops, macaroni and cheese and baked potato. He really like his meal, and took one of the pork chops home for lunch the next day. Enjoyed our time there and had a great waitress.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food was great and the price was reasonable. I loved the original and unique photographs under the glass top of the table. They are all Elvis related around the Graceland and Memphis area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, but go for the Elvis ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The ribs were tasty and tender, and the cole slaw was above average. A nice touch - the former owner (apparently he handed the restaurant down to his child) walks around giving small cupcakes to junior restaurant-goers. If you are really lucky and go on a Thursday night, you might run into a member of the Memphis Mafia, like we did. Since we were in Memphis to tour Graceland the next day, this just made our trip. We did not catch a ride in the Pink Cadillac, but it looked like fun. I've never been to a restaurant that served "Barbeque Spaghetti," but that's what happens when Italian folks have a restaurant in Memphis.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“ELVIS ate here, you should too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Love the atmosphere at Marlowe's; if you are an Elvis fan do not miss this local restaurant. Established in 1974, located just down the street from Graceland, on Elvis Presley Blvd; the restaurant is packed with memorabilia of Elvis career; and the menu is packed with a variety of delicious foods. Open 7 days a week beginning at 4 pm; if you are staying in a local hotel you may call and request a ride in their signature pink limo. My husband and I shared the fried rolls as an appetizer, (so bad but so good, fresh from the deep fryer.) He enjoyed the half rack of ribs with the sauce on the side, bbq beans and slaw, I had the bbq salad. The ribs were done perfectly with a delicious smoky flavor and my bbq pork was lean, tender and perfectly cooked. I do recommend getting the sauce on the side as it may be too smoky flavored for some tastes. We eat here every time we visit Memphis; it is a must for the visitor to the Memphis area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs also viewed

 

Been to Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.