We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #85 of 134 hotels in Memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Keep looking....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staying here for work, company takes care of booking rooms, that parts nice, but I would choose another place to stay for a long period of time, the rooms don't get cleaned unless you ask, and even then it's not "clean", they have a towel issue for sure, never seem to have towels, you have to bring yours down and leave them to be washed, you might get them back same day.. Started a new free breakfast this month, granola bars, fruit and muffins.. But don't try to get more than 2, you will get called out! Staff is nice, just need more to work with..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    9
    9
    21
See reviews for
11
13
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just taken over by Extended Stay America and they have no idea what they are doing. I booked the room using priceline name your own price and when I got there they could not find the reservation. They told me there were no single rooms availabe and then wanted to charge me again for a double room. I refused and they made me get out my laptop and prove I made the resrvation and when i did they finally called the manager who talked the night clerk through the process. Finally found my reservation and when they gave me the key it was a room with single full size bed. The bed cover was stained, the chair ottoman was stained and I kept my socks on while walking on the carpet. Left early in the morning with no breakfast and no shower. The sheets appeared clean but the rest of the room was and the hallways were in sad shape.

Room Tip: Choose someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was not really fit for paying customers. The staff was arrogant and rude. We tried to check in at 2:50 and was told that the rooms would not be ready for 10 minutes. Based upon the room, I know they were not cleaning my room. The security latch was broken, the faucet leaked, the chairs had giant stains, the closet doors were missing, you only get a bar of soap (no shampoo), the sheets are sandpaper quality, and the towels smelled of chemicals. The toilet did work.

Room Tip: Check the room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mzubair, Manager at Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 6 weeks. The employees could not be more rude and lazy. They are incapable of even the most basic hotel tasks. Bring your own towels and keep them in your car, the staff will steal them. Fridge didn't work, window leaked, both chairs had only three legs. The hotel stinks so bad - I think they were going for "pine" but it comes out as bong water.. Forget cooking - boiling an egg will set off the fire alarms. Also, the manager will just randomly turn off your keys while she "checks the locks". I sincerely do not have one single solitary thing to say about this hotel that isn't damning. Seriously, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mzubair, Manager at Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangely, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The staff was friendly and the landscaping was very well kept. The bed was comfortable. Now for the negatives: The drink machines did not work, there was no coffee service downstairs, the carpet had lots of spots, the wallpaper was coming off the walls in several places, the counter top in my room had numerous large cracks in it (unable to clean - breeding ground for bacteria), the a/c only worked most of the time, and there were hairs on the wall of the shower. The card reader on the back door was not functioning, causing other guests to wedge the door open; a major security issue. This hotel has a great location and great curb appeal. Unfortunately it appears that it is long overdue for a remodel, and the housekeeping staff could probably use a bit more supervision. While I would not necessarily avoid this place, if I'm ever in Memphis again it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mzubair, Manager at Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. I know how committed we are to satisfying our guests, which is why it gave me great pleasure to read your kind words about our staff. Given this commitment, it was with great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

Despite our high quality control measures, I understand that you were given a room with an air conditioner that did not function properly. I have acted to prevent the recurrence of such an incident by retraining our staff on how to monitor the condition of our a.c. units during routine inspections. We would never intentionally make a room available when it does not have a functioning air conditioner, so we are grateful that you brought this issue to our attention.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a good hotel to stay at in case you are looking for a spacious and a clean hotel on the main business street of Memphis - Poplar Avenue. The decor of the rooms, staff friendliness, parking space and overall cleanliness is brilliant. I stayed there for over 6 months overall staggered over a year and each time I've been pleased with my stay. You need to get your own groceries and you'll find Burger King, McDees, Kroger, Subway, a liquor store, a couple of gas stations, 200 meters away from the hotel making it awesome from a location perspective. The hotel rates are also very reasonable. Only things missing here are a gym and a pool, but overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mzubair, Manager at Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a great home away from home. The rooms were comfortable and the staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mzubair, Manager at Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue

Address: 6500 Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Memphis/Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homestead Suites Memphis
Homestead Memphis
Memphis Homestead Suites
Extended Stay America Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Memphis - Poplar Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.