We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have received a better review but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
More Points for your Stay
Ranked #59 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
york, pa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Would have received a better review but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

for the price I was disappointed in the upkeep of the hotel. In my room, the hardwood floor was starting to buckle in one spot and about 4 pieces were raised and I kept kicking them. The toilet had a huge stain around one of the pipes, I assume it was rust. The wallpaper was starting to come apart where the pieces meet. The room wasn't as quiet as it could be, but thankfully I had a fan and turned it on so I didn't have to hear the people talking in the next room. I did like the lobby's waterfall and resident ducks. All the employees, except one, were nice and helpful. Upon checkout at 4am on 2/1, the desk clerk acted like I was bothering him when I asked for my bill. We also asked him a question about the computer in the business office not working and he says "I have no idea about that". He didn't even offer to help! All in all, if I am paying $175 a night, my expectations will be higher. I feel that the hotel should be kept up a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    134
    87
    59
    61
See reviews for
192
86
12
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for business. Typical Embassy Suites layout which lends to a loud atrium. Small gym but never had to wait and all equipment was functioning, clean towels and cold water available.

The rooms are typical Embassy Suites, king or two doubles. I thought the walls seemed thin as I could hear my neighbor quite well most of the time. And there are wood floors around the kitchen area, so footsteps were heard from above.

Location is excellent right off Poplar and I-240, just 10-15 mins from the airport, plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. The in-house Italian restaurant was pretty good, dinners priced at usual hotel rates of $20-$30 on average.

I'll stay here again when in this area of Memphis.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff was awesome at every turn, always pleasant and frequently checked to see if they could do anything for us during our stay. The facility was beautiful and my grandson got such a kick out of the ducks and the waterfall in the lobby. It was fun just to see his face light up at the adventure of it all. He took me on a tour to show me all the things he found! Our room was comfortable and spacious. I love that they are aware of the environment and making steps to reduce waste - Very Proactive! Enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for one day just to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The lobby was beautiful and the customer service was absolutely wonderful. All of the staff were attentive to our needs. We were not very familiar with places in the area and the front desk made sure we had door to door directions. We were very pleased with our stay overall and the next time we are in the Memphis area this hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean, well maintained, with an extremely friendly staff. Every one from the front desk to house keeping and the kitchen was smiling and helpful. Great bed and cozy sheets. It's Memphis, so of course there are ducks in the lobby!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the worse night's sleep I've had. Beds are very small and hard. Thought they would be queens but don't think they were as wide as a full. Walls also very thin, a group of young girls giggled all night.

Restaurant EXCELLENT!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I remember words of wisdom from someone much older than me that said, "You will always find what you're looking for..." We booked our room knowing that it was an older hotel that had been somewhat updated. We went into it with that mindset, therefore we were pleased with what we found. Setting realistic expectations for a hotel can make or break your experience.

The service at the hotel was outstanding. The front desk personnel were friendly and efficient, yet you did not feel they were rushing you even though the hotel was completely booked that weekend. The personnel that worked down in the breakfast area were extremely nice and helpful. They made me feel as though I was having breakfast at my grandmother's house. They were my favorite part of the hotel stay. I do hope the hotel sees the value that these ladies and gentlemen add to the customer's hotel stay. We loved how they chatted with us and remembered us each morning. Housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning our rooms. We were even pleased to find a security guard in the parking lot at all hours of the day and night.

Three of us shared a suite and were very comfortable. We did a lot of shopping that weekend and were able to bring in our shopping bags in addition to our luggage and still had plenty of room to relax even with there only being one small storage area in the bedroom. The beds were comfortable and had adequate covers. It was nice to have a big, thick metal door to close off the suite and bedroom area so one of us could go to bed early while the others stayed up. Both rooms had flatscreen TVs, microwave, refrigerator and get this...THREE sinks with mirrors. God bless the person that came up with that idea. It was perfect for three women trying to get ready in the mornings. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no bathtub, only a shower. The rooms were very clean and were stocked with plenty of linens.

The hotel itself is reality quiet. We stayed on the fourth floor and did not hear any street noise. There was a security guard also walking the hallways to help keep noise levels down to a minimum. However, that didn't always work. There was a soccer tournament in town that weekend and there were families allowing their kids to run the hallways, yelling, slamming doors and knocking on random doors until late in the night. There was also a group sitting down in the atrium drinking until late on Saturday night and they got a little rowdy for a short time. We never called the front desk to complain, so we have no one to blame but ourselves for that.

We did not participate in the managers reception but we did enjoy the breakfast each morning. There was a small buffet set up but you could also get a made-to-order breakfast which was always very good. There were pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal and yogurt too. We were very pleased with how the staff managed the breakfast even though there were tons of people trying to eat. They kept everything fresh and stocked up. It was nice to sit in the atrium by the man-made "brook" that ran through there. It was stocked with goldfish and ducks. The ducks would sometimes walk through the eating area to pick up crumbs, but they never bothered anyone eating.

If I had to point out a "down side" to this place it's that the parking lot is not really big enough to serve all of the hotel patrons.

We will certainly stay in the hotel again. It was well positioned to give us easy access to all of the shopping in Germantown. It's right off of Interstate 240...just far enough away to not hear all of the traffic noise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 448 which was in the middle of the hotel away from both elevators. It was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
11.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#7 of 135 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#36 of 135 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Address: 1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.