We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, beautiful facility, awesome staff, what more could you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Memphis to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Memphis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Included
Ranked #36 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Comfortable rooms, beautiful facility, awesome staff, what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff was awesome at every turn, always pleasant and frequently checked to see if they could do anything for us during our stay. The facility was beautiful and my grandson got such a kick out of the ducks and the waterfall in the lobby. It was fun just to see his face light up at the adventure of it all. He took me on a tour to show me all the things he found! Our room was comfortable and spacious. I love that they are aware of the environment and making steps to reduce waste - Very Proactive! Enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for one day just to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    121
    74
    39
    22
See reviews for
165
70
12
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The lobby was beautiful and the customer service was absolutely wonderful. All of the staff were attentive to our needs. We were not very familiar with places in the area and the front desk made sure we had door to door directions. We were very pleased with our stay overall and the next time we are in the Memphis area this hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean, well maintained, with an extremely friendly staff. Every one from the front desk to house keeping and the kitchen was smiling and helpful. Great bed and cozy sheets. It's Memphis, so of course there are ducks in the lobby!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the worse night's sleep I've had. Beds are very small and hard. Thought they would be queens but don't think they were as wide as a full. Walls also very thin, a group of young girls giggled all night.

Restaurant EXCELLENT!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I remember words of wisdom from someone much older than me that said, "You will always find what you're looking for..." We booked our room knowing that it was an older hotel that had been somewhat updated. We went into it with that mindset, therefore we were pleased with what we found. Setting realistic expectations for a hotel can make or break your experience.

The service at the hotel was outstanding. The front desk personnel were friendly and efficient, yet you did not feel they were rushing you even though the hotel was completely booked that weekend. The personnel that worked down in the breakfast area were extremely nice and helpful. They made me feel as though I was having breakfast at my grandmother's house. They were my favorite part of the hotel stay. I do hope the hotel sees the value that these ladies and gentlemen add to the customer's hotel stay. We loved how they chatted with us and remembered us each morning. Housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning our rooms. We were even pleased to find a security guard in the parking lot at all hours of the day and night.

Three of us shared a suite and were very comfortable. We did a lot of shopping that weekend and were able to bring in our shopping bags in addition to our luggage and still had plenty of room to relax even with there only being one small storage area in the bedroom. The beds were comfortable and had adequate covers. It was nice to have a big, thick metal door to close off the suite and bedroom area so one of us could go to bed early while the others stayed up. Both rooms had flatscreen TVs, microwave, refrigerator and get this...THREE sinks with mirrors. God bless the person that came up with that idea. It was perfect for three women trying to get ready in the mornings. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no bathtub, only a shower. The rooms were very clean and were stocked with plenty of linens.

The hotel itself is reality quiet. We stayed on the fourth floor and did not hear any street noise. There was a security guard also walking the hallways to help keep noise levels down to a minimum. However, that didn't always work. There was a soccer tournament in town that weekend and there were families allowing their kids to run the hallways, yelling, slamming doors and knocking on random doors until late in the night. There was also a group sitting down in the atrium drinking until late on Saturday night and they got a little rowdy for a short time. We never called the front desk to complain, so we have no one to blame but ourselves for that.

We did not participate in the managers reception but we did enjoy the breakfast each morning. There was a small buffet set up but you could also get a made-to-order breakfast which was always very good. There were pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal and yogurt too. We were very pleased with how the staff managed the breakfast even though there were tons of people trying to eat. They kept everything fresh and stocked up. It was nice to sit in the atrium by the man-made "brook" that ran through there. It was stocked with goldfish and ducks. The ducks would sometimes walk through the eating area to pick up crumbs, but they never bothered anyone eating.

If I had to point out a "down side" to this place it's that the parking lot is not really big enough to serve all of the hotel patrons.

We will certainly stay in the hotel again. It was well positioned to give us easy access to all of the shopping in Germantown. It's right off of Interstate 240...just far enough away to not hear all of the traffic noise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 448 which was in the middle of the hotel away from both elevators. It was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a soccer tournament. Older design, but it has been redone and was clean and the breakfast was good with many healthy and prepared to order choices. Surprisingly quiet for a hotel full of kids. Convenient to good shopping and many casual dining chains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed with our family of 5 and were all comfortable in one room. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and smelled nice. Not a thing out of place. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: non-smoking rooms smell great. No residual smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Memphis

Address: 1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.