We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Memphis to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Memphis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Included
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend, one night in a king room on the 2nd floor and the other in a double on the 1st floor. The 2nd floor room was perfect, but the one on the 1st floor had a couple of lights that weren't working and unfortunately it seemed much louder ( I think we were under a family with small children). Other than that I have nothing to complain about; the staff was accommodating and friendly, the free happy hour was nice and we will definitely stay here again when we come to Memphis. Oh, and Frank Grisanti's (the restaurant inside the hotel) serves delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    121
    74
    39
    22
See reviews for
165
70
12
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is exactly what you would expect from an Embassy Suites. The staff were very friendly and the lobby was nice. I absolutely loved the room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here after staying at several in other states, Love this hotel. Friendly helpful staff, clean, nice atmosphere, well appointed and comfortable rooms/suites. And you sure can't beat the free happy hour, and the free full breakfast buffet, including fresh made to order omlets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have to frequently stay in Memphis on business, and most of the time I stay here. It is conveniently located in Midtown, which is near where I have to go for business meetings, with several nearby restaurants, and just a few minutes from I-240. The front desk is always very helpful and my rooms have always been clean with comfortable beds. The first time I stayed here, I thought the loudness of the centrum area would keep me awake, but I've never been able to hear any noise once I shut the bedroom door. It does get quite busy and loud, particularly on the weekends. Also- the room service is from Grisanti's restaurant right there in the hotel, and it is very expensive and not always good. I usually pick something up and bring it back, or there are several places that will deliver. There's also a business center, which I've had to use several times, and an airport shuttle as well. Overall, good place for a business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family has stayed at this Embassy Suites more than once and always have a good time here. It isn't in the heart of the tourist area, but it is well located to places all over Memphis. There are great places to eat very nearby and the food at the hotel itself is always tasty. The atmosphere is comfortable and the rooms are always clean. The staff has helped us when things came up out of the blue and we have never had a single complaint.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I spent one night at the Embassy Suites Memphis as a last-minute trip - it's located in a great part of town, just off I-240 at Poplar (behind a Ruth's Chris and an upscale shopping center). Check-in was fast and efficient, and the lobby and atrium area were clean and welcoming.

The suite itself was spotlessly clean - and I emphasize spotless. The bedroom had its own sink/vanity area, which was a great touch, and the kitchenette area had everything necessary for an overnight stay. I did have to call the front desk for coffee (for some reason, I only had decaf) and extra pillows, and they were brought upstairs promptly.

The happy hour was nice, with a crudite platter, chips and salsa, and cheeses. The cocktail selection was actually a bit better than other Embassy Suites, but, I have to say, the bartender wasn't exactly the friendliest fellow around. The breakfast had scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, an omelet station, waffles, cereals, and fruit. While it was busy, everything seemed to move efficiently.

Now, the cons: The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. The sofa bed was horrendous (possibly the worst I've ever encountered). Plus, for a hotel that comps happy hour and breakfast, $10 for internet is ludicrous. In fact, I believe it's the only Embassy Suites I've encountered that actually charges for internet - and that includes Manhattan.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great hotel in a great part of town.

Every hotel staff member I interacted with was great. The "Happy Hour" is fantastic. The decor is slightly outdated, but they make the most of the atrium with the river and fish. Lots of families looked like they were having a great time. The restaurant and bar have above-average food. The breakfast buffet is one of the best.

The room was very comfortable and up-to-date. The only complaint I have, and it's very minor, is that the pillows are very uncomfortable.

However, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Memphis

Address: 1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.