We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blues City Cafe

Blues City Cafe
138 Beale Street, Memphis, TN 38103
901-526-3637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blues City's world famous menu has drawn attention of presidents and celebrities alike. Check out the best food on Beale with live music nightly in our world famous Band Box.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Big beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Popped in but could not tell whether band were going to come back on stage or not. There seemed to be a bit of confusion so after twenty minutes of nothing I tookd my big beer and moved on.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    26
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best ribs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This review is a little older from before I trip advised.
My wife,son and I stopped in here for BBQ,and we waddled out.
The best ribs I've ever put in my mouth,hands down, and I've had good ribs before.
My wife grew up 20 miles south in Miss and was telling me about Memphis BBQ,so I had to try BBC and glad I did.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenback, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great music, good food, nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went here mid January, I ordered the pulled pork BBQ, can't say it was special but was good. My husband ordered ribs and he said those were good. Large portions and food service was prompt, but we were here on a rainy Jan morning and not many customers inside. I loved the blues playing on the jukebox, nice old building , reasonably priced

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is not fancy and it is on the corner of the very touristy -(but must see place) Beale Street. But the food is Memphis authentic and very delicious. They also have good local beer and prices are reasonable. Service from a low-key but friendly waiter was great. We had french fries covered in a seafood creole and barbecue ribs--HEAVEN!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ribs and catfish combo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our tour guide recommended it, the hotel concierge recommended it, and the cab driver said to have either the ribs or the catfish. I was happy to find that the menu offered a combo plate, so ribs, catfish, fries and slaw it was! I would have liked hushpuppies too, but I guess that is a different part of the South. The ribs were succulent and had a great sauce, the catfish was crispy outside and melt in your mouth inside. The waiter was fun and took good care of us. Definitely the place to go if you only have one night in Memphis.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blues City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blues City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.