We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Studio

Sun Studio
706 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
901-521-0664
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour
Ranked #1 of 76 Attractions in Memphis
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Recording studio where Elvis Presley made his first record.
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The help and the know how of a great associates goes far.
The infomation you learn on just one walk through at the recording studio is vast. The music and fun time of who recorded this type of music and elvis music his very first ever record recorded an standing i the same spot that elvis stood. wow it was moving. $20.00 for the tour well worth the money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,474
    641
    137
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not sure what I expected from Sun Studios but as they run a free shuttle all over town to get visitors I guessed it wasn't much. Well I was wrong the history of the studios is fascinating especially when bought to life by the very enthusiastic people that work at the studios. Our guides name was Jason and he was excellent, he earned his tip more than anyone I've met so far in the US with interesting information delivered excellently. Would recommend this as an absolute must not a have to regardless. Oh children under 5 cannot go on the tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hound dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Was much more interesting than i thot it would be (just went along to keep hubby happy) and fun. $10 entry

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“elvis forever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

as we walked through to the recording studio elvis was singing how great thou art it was as if he was there everybody felt it and i was really enjoyed the whole experience

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when going to Sun Studio and was pleasantly surprised. It is small and a fairly short tour, but interesting and informative. It is a must if you are visiting Memphis.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.