We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's Oyster House

Pearl's Oyster House
299 S Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-3907 (Downtown)
901-522-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
NYC
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pearl's is an unpretentious fish house that features catfish. Never having tasted it before, my husband ordered it and was not disappointed. I had the shrimp and they were lightly and deliciously battered. Good food and fun experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    57
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Looking for that New Orleans cuisine? Pearl's has it. Red beans and rice with sausage was just what I expected. Reasonably priced.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Flavorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The restaurant is very nice and you could possibly have a romantic evening there. However the night I visited it was empty and the football game was on. Other than that the servers were very friendly and attentive. The oyster shooters were good and reminded me of a bloody mary. Now why my husband ordered four of them is beyond me. The Char-grilled Oysters were good and were seasoned and I loved them but not quite as delicious as ACME in New Orleans. Would I eat here again? Of course and perhaps try other items on the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just a teriffic dinner in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pearl's came highly recommended by many reviewers. I wanted oysters and my wife wanted shrimp & grits. Both were excellent. Their prices were reasonable and the service was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and could not have been any nicer. I had the char grilled oysters for the first time and they were great. You cannot go wrong with Pearls.
We were staying at the Peabody Hotel and it was a brisk 10 minute walk.
The nice thing were learned about the city of Memphis is that it is very compact and many restaurants and attractions are within walking distance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best spot to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This was absolutely the best meal we had while in Memphis. The service from the minute we entered was very attentive. The interior of the restaurant has character and is a nice place to sit and watch Main St.
The food we had was to die for - the oysters rockefeller were delicious - a great appetizer. Both entrees, shrimp scampi and jambalaya were wonderful - nicely spicy and flavourful. For dessert we shared a bread pudding - glad we shared as the portion was huge. But we managed to polish it off as it too was delicious. Definitely eat here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Pearl's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.