We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade cheesecake from a small business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheesecake Corner

Cheesecake Corner
113 E Ge Patterson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-4501 (Downtown)
901-525-2253
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homemade cheesecake from a small business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

In this small, minority owned business, you can get homemade cheesecake in a variety of flavors. The cheesecake is just as good as you would get at the Cheesecake Factory but expect to pay slightly more (about $10 per slice) for it. I'be had several slices in a variety of flavors and they are all good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Things Changed for the Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have been here three times in three years. Tonight's visit was a big improvement from the previous two visits. They had really cleaned up. The service was friendly, gracious and efficient. And the cheesecake was a good as I remembered; not to be found in other restaurants. It continues to be a good value for the price.
We'll be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good, overpriced, questionable cleanliness, indifferent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Server/cashier not friendly. Have heard how not-so-well customers were treated here and I was prepared. Don't look for service with a smile. Turtle Cheesecake slice & 1 brownie plus tip $23. Bucket of dark water kept behind display case where server dipped fingertips and wiped on paper towel. Guess a real sink with actual soap was too far.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I think I've got more of a Sweet tooth than the rest of the country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Finding good desserts out of St Louis is a challenge for us. We have jilly's cupcake, hanks cheesecake, and Ted Drews frozen custard. We tried this knowing it would be pricey. 8.95 a slice or 58 for a cake is outrageous. Hoping they would rival our Hanks (you can get a small personal cheesecake for 10) or at least the cheesecake factory (you can get a side there for around 5-6 and they are huge!) we began the flavor exploration. I have the pecan praline and she had a vanilla Chocolate cherry. It was ok. Nothing special and not worth it again. May I suggest diving 4 hours northwest for better desserts?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Went here because of good reviews, not worth the effort. All cheesecake 10 dollars per slice for takeaway, no value at all. It was nice, but nothing that you can't get for half the price in dessert menus at proper Memphis restaurants.
Also note that it does not open till 3 each afternoon, although remains open till 10.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesecake Corner also viewed

 

Been to Cheesecake Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheesecake Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.