We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit while in Memphis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum

Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum
826 N Second St, Memphis, TN 38107
901-527-3427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 76 Attractions in Memphis
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the tunnels used by runaway slaves who stopped at this plantation, one of the stations of the Underground Railroad.
baton rouge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit while in Memphis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I went to the National Civil Rights Museum in the morning and Slave Haven in the afternoon. Tangela was our tour guide. She was a good guide and answered all of my questions. The house is a little run down. The neighborhood was fine, especially during the day. The reviewers who say otherwise must come from very sheltered environments. We parked on the street and then went to the back door to be let in. Slave Haven obviously does not have the same budget as the National Civil Rights Museum, but the subject matter was presented with just as much passion.

I had never been to a stop on the underground railroad. The total stop at the museum took a little over an hour. It was well worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    45
    10
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The house was constructed by Jacob Burkle's in 1849 and served as part of the underground railroad. Mr. Burkle did what he could to help fight slavery and get people to freedom. It's a small white house and in the back there is a secret cellar and trap door underneath the porch in which the slaves would be hidden until safe passage way to the Tennesse River. You will get to go into the cellar and get an idea of what if must have been like which really puts things into perspective.

The young woman who gave the tour was absolutely phenomenal. The tour lasted about 45 min. and you'll hear the dispicable and horrid experiences that was endured during slavery. No one should've ever been allowed to treat another human being in such a way. It is more of a historical experience, not alot of artifacts to see like in a museum, but very worthwhile and the history needs to be told and understood. It was a very moving experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but worth a quick visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Interesting to see how people helped slaves gain freedom via the underground railroad. The facility is in poor condition, but the staff are passionate about sharing the history of the underground railroad. The tour is 45 minutes and worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Deeply moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I am so glad we came here. This is more of an experience than a typical museum visit. The house is preserved so that you can imagine what life was like during the slavery era. The guides have an incredible presence and really give you an understanding of what it was like for slaves. It is just outside the downtown core. We took a taxi there but actually we walked back downtown and it was only ten minutes to the Main Sreet trolley which took us the rest of the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very moving and eye opening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We decided to go to Slave Haven on a whim, not sure what we were getting in to and it was an amazing glimpse and depiction of a life that we have only read about. Do not think about this as a museum where you see artifacts, but rather an hour long journey of stories and experiences that come to life. Our tour guide had lived in Memphis his whole life and told us about his family's roots in slavery, reviewed how the underground railroad worked, described the life of a slave and the gamble they took everyday to do things that we take for granted. Our guide also spent a while discussing present day racism and the day to day life in Memphis now. We found our guide eager to share his experiences, but also very respectful of our cultural differences. It definitely made a lasting impact with us. This tour is very reasonably priced. It is cash only though. My only concern is that we didn't have enough cash for the admission, and asked where the nearest ATM was. The guide gave us directions to a gas station that he said was a "safe place" for us, and up until then we didn't think that we weren't in a safe part of town, so made us a little uncomfortable. I'd say drive or take a cab there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum also viewed

 

Been to Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slave Haven / Burkle Estate Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.