We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulls the whole story together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum

Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum
191 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Midtown)
901-205-2533
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$74*
and up
Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass
Ranked #11 of 76 Attractions in Memphis
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chronicling the artists and the music that shaped the legacy of "Memphis Sound," this museum features the Smithsonian's "Rock 'n' Roll: Social Crossroads" exhibition.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pulls the whole story together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Such a good museum to visit, really pulls it all together and you get to feel and here the music that shaped the world

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    280
    81
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another must see place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

not expensive but very informative, great to see where it all began
lots of original music and equipment

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good for music lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you like old music and the history behind this you will love this self guided tour. The audio is great, the amount of history is great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We found the museum to be very interesting and well laid out, you are given a headset and audio device so you can decide which exhibits you would like to hear more about.

The staff on the desk were very helpful, we also wanted to take a tour of the Gibson Guitar Factory opposite and they explained we could get our ticket at the museum stamped so we could leave to go on our booked tour at the factory and then return to the museum to finish looking round which we did.

The museum spanned several eras and had interesting exhibits and music to listen to. I would recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Music Pioneers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This modern exhibition situated at Beale Street was created by the Smithsonian Institution. It tells the fascinating story of musical pioneers who overcame racial, social and extreme economic difficulties to create and mould a new music form that shook the world. The museum is an enjoyable experience for music and history fans alike offering interesting details on the progress of R&S music from the 1930’s through its 70’s heyday in Memphis to its current global position. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.