We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruined our day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Graceland

Graceland
3717 Elvis Presley Blvd., Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)
+1 901-332-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 86 attractions in Memphis
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Voted #1 Iconic Attraction in America by USA Today readers, Graceland is the ultimate rock 'n' roll experience in Memphis. Go on a one-of-a-kind journey through Elvis' humble beginnings and rise to superstardom with up close and personal looks at the influence that forever changed our music and our lives. Experience Elvis' life at Graceland through videos, photos, personal mementos and artifacts, movie memorabilia, stage costumes and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sidney, Ohio, United States
1 review
“ruined our day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

rock-n-roll food shop,was a rip off. cashier short changes,mgmt an securityin in on it.they were extremely discourteous. video backup was screwed up,waste of time. THEIVES!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,724
    1,312
    429
    91
    46
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Elvis is not my era, but had a great trip and good experience of History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

Definitely worth going to see. Auto mobile museum just across the road, right next to Heartbreak Hotel, and not far from Martin Luther King motel room where he was shot.

Beale street is down the road and people are really friendly. Plenty to see in Memphis, lots of musical and political history I think everyone must see once in their lifetime.

Memphis, Dirty South all the way. Great time with one of my mates whom I travelled with.

5 Stars.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So emotional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

We were not great fans of Elvis but left with a new respect for the man. It was very emotional. Never new he donated so much money to so many organizations.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth doing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Planned to only spend an hour here and ended up spending three hours. It is worth seeing, and great to see how Elvis lived. We liked how you are given an iPad so you can guide yourself. We went at about 3pm and it wasn't too busy at that time of day. Enjoyed seeing his aircrafts too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ridiculously cramped in the house! Not enjoyable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Firstly, the tour + parking can work out very expensive (£90+ for two people if you want to see the private jets). I feel that given the entrance fee, the parking should be included instead of £10!. Nevertheless, it was something we really wanted to do so we shrugged off the money...

The private jet and automobile collections were really cool to see and we were glad we had paid to see them. But what we really didn't enjoy was the tour of the house.

Firstly, we were told when we arrived that we wouldn't be able to go to the house for an hour and a half. We were on a tight schedule with a 3 hour drive to Jackson Mississippi after, but we had driver 4 hours out of our way to get to Memphis so we had no choice but to wait.

We waited for the hour and a half, but our tour number had still not come up on the board. We asked two or three times and were told to come back later - until eventually one member of staff told us there was a glitch in the system so we should line up now. No one apologised for the delay - we got there at 2 o'clock and didn't make it into the house until 4.45pm.

We had to queue for the shuttle over to the house, then we had to queue outside the house... and then once in the house we were in a shuffling line that moved sooooo frustratingly slowly that you couldn't see anything. The house was so full that you couldn't move one side to the other. I asked a member of staff if it was always this busy and she said that since they introduced the iPad audio tour, everyone seems to move slower through the house.

If you were lucky and went on a day when it wasn't busy you would probably have a great time, but after 10 minutes of moving about an inch at a time, we got sick of waiting and just wanted to get out of the house.

You would think with so many thousands of tourists visiting each year they would have the process down to a fine art, but instead we were left with an unenjoyable experience due to the crowding and waiting around.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graceland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.