We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly touching spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graceland

Graceland
3734 Elvis Presley Blvd., Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)
+1 901-332-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour
Ranked #7 of 76 Attractions in Memphis
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Graceland in Memphis, Tennessee, is the home of Elvis Presley, the King of Rock 'n' Roll. Elvis Presley's Graceland is open daily with tours of Graceland Mansion, the Elvis Presley Car Museum, Elvis custom jets and other limited time exhibits. The tour of Graceland Mansion features an interactive, iPad tour with additional enhancements including photos, video and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Palmer, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly touching spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was prepared to not like Graceland and only went as others wanted to go. Turns out it was a great experience and the burial area was respectfully viewed by those on the tour. The garden was beautifully landscaped and it felt more like a family was buried there than a celebrity. The house was smaller than I expected but each room brought back memories of my life which connected with the music. A very positive experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,303
    1,529
    497
    101
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Somewhat interesting but very depressing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Graceland is an interesting attraction but I found myself sorta sad during the whole time I was there. It's just a 70's looking home inside and knowing what a person knows about all that went on there it's a downer. I did like going over to the car museum and seeing his plane. Of course an over priced gift shop. I don't know.....guess it all depends on your feelings about Elvis.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rags to riches to rags...and almost back to riches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have wanted to see the Graceland mansion for a long time, and recently stopped there on a trip down south. I was a pretty young kid when Elvis died, but his story continued to grow in popularity afterhis death and it always interested me.
The first thing that sort of strikes you as you wait in the visitor center and look across the road at the houses is, "That's it?" This "mansion" isnt all that big or impressive. Of course, for this area and in its time it must have really been something....not sure if its heartwarming or disturbing but in this era of post-mcmansion suburban sprawl, we probably all know at least one person with a way bigger house who was way less famous that Elvis Presley.
We opted for the basic tour of the house and grounds only, but his cars and jets are also available for tours. The house is essentially set up as it was in the late 1970's when elvis died, and its tough to remember that what we think of as quaint or even tacky was fashionable and high tech back then.
The story of his life plays in your headphones as you walk the various rooms....you hear how he was born in abject poverty and see / hear his first recordings....you hear the story of his rapid rise to fame and in addition to his hundreds of gold and platinum records the movies and his costumes are also displayed.
The most interesting part for me was the athletic building....the first part of the building was again set up as it was in the 70s, down to the piano which Elvis played his last song on, on the morning of his death. The raquetball court has been remade into another trophy area documenting his final tour.
I found his story oddly familiar....the rise to fame, the excesses, the parasitic "hangers on", the subsequent reclusive period, the re-emergence followed by a relatively sudden and tragic end. Great Story.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprised at how great it was.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was in the area on business and since Graceland was so close we decided to drop in and visit it. It was not the tacky display we expected. It was great on all levels, well kept up and very informative. My only negative and thus reason I rated 4 stars instead of 5 was the fact that the staff for the most part seemed bored and uninterested. Friendly.... but bored.

The actual experience was overwhelming and I would surely go again. So great to see some great American and Show Biz history.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“House good rest poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First the good bit,the house was amazing,oh to see the 70's decor again and real tv's.
Staff were kind polite and informative thank you .
Now the bad bit,staff at the begining line were disinterested and rude,you get the feeling that they have done it so many times before and are so bored with people asking stupid questions.They ignored paying guests and chatted to themselves in two's and three's.I asked the lady when she wanted to take a photo of my wife and i how much the shot would cost.Reply "how should i kmow".
Catering was poor and again staff not really interested.
Glad we went but won't return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graceland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.