We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving tribute to a great man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel

National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel
450 Mulberry St., Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
+1 901-521-9699
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #2 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the place of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'S death in 1968 in Memphis, TN, the National Civil Rights Museum is a renowned educational and cultural institution. The Museum chronicles the American Civil Rights Movement with compelling presentations of iconic exhibits, oral histories of lesser-known civil rights foot soldiers, and visceral, in-the-moment experiences. Visitors will learn through emotionally charged, multi-user, multi-touch interactives, and a visually engaging, contemporary exhibit design that guides you through five centuries of history. Bring the whole family.
Auckland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Moving tribute to a great man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I arrived in Memphis very early in the morning and went for a walk and came across the motel. The museum was closed so I didn't get to go in but as I was the only person around at 7 in the morning it was very peaceful and tranquil, the motel itself is a very poignant and moving tribute to Martin Luther King Jr and I think once the renovations have been completed the whole site will be really lovely. There is a nice walkway down from where the museum shop is.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,854
    486
    121
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gave me chills...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Love the history and the presentation of the investigation that took place after the shooting of MLK....must go if you love museums

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Being renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Interesting and an important visit to do in Memphis. In a nice area too, have a walk around there are some nice cafes etc. The building work being carried out on the museum was so noisy it made it quite hard to concentrate but I'm sure this will be completed soon. Would still recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“wished we actually went in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We head to stop here to take a look but we lacked the time to actually go in. Next time we should bc we heard so many good things about it. The motel itself is renovating when we got there so they told us in the future it would be all set to go but we got to see the Lorrain Motel and where MLK was shot and the memorial in front. It felt really real and momentous just being there and being able to show the kids esp the teens what this place meant. So its definitely worth a visit there and when they open after the renovations we'd like to visit the whole place. The staff is super friendly there and welcoming. Would really like to see the city renovate the area around this place too, not just the motel/museum bc I think more people would opt to visit if so. Glad we stopped by!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

It's obviously extremely moving to be in the place where Martin Luther King was assassinated. But the museum has been undergoing restoration for a long while and is in a temporary home which does not allow its full exhibition range to be displayed.
This means the focus is a little too much on the actual shooting and a less on the message of both MLK and other perspectives within the whole civil rights movement.
It's hard not to be very humbled by this setting though and a great shop too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel also viewed

 

Been to National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Civil Rights Museum - Lorraine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.