We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling to see why this gets such great reviews, but ok overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Struggling to see why this gets such great reviews, but ok overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

I must be honest, I'm bemused, given the great reviews this hotel gets!

It's not too bad overall, but it's not as good as I expected it to be (perhaps my expectations were over-inflated by all the reviews)

The good bits first:
*The staff are friendly enough, but nothing spectacular.
*Breakfast is included in the rate, and if you just want cereal, waffle or baguel, it's ok.
*The rooms are of a good size, and resonably modern
*So overall, it does the job
*Plus, the bed is comfortable enough

But then there are downsides that take the edge off for me:
*The room we have has a pretty old and grubby bathroom. It's doesn't look or feel clean, although to be fair I think it's probably cleaner than it looks.
*The location isn't ideal, being a 5-10 min walk from the centre of the action. This is fine in the daylight, but it feels quite intimidating at night. You can take a tram/trolley from the back of the hotel, but this still means a short dark walk.
*There is an odd 'mechanical' smell around the elavators, which look tired and old. This doesn't give me huge confidence, but I'ms sure they're OK. The smell was enough one morning to wake us up!
*Old and noisy aircon in the rooms (although it is effective)
*If, like us, you get a room with an adjoining door, you can hear every word from your neighbours (more than you'd normally expect with such adjoining rooms).

So my summary for this place is 'OK, does the job, but not as well as I'd have hoped for'.

p.s. Went to the Peabody hotel, and despite some dubious reviews on here it looks pretty spot on to me in the atrium area (although obviously I couldn't see any of the rooms). On this admittedly small snashot of this hotel, I'd pay a little more and stay here if I ever came back to Memphis, no question!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    259
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
94
205
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis, and we loved it. The service was great. All of the staff was courteous and polite. The room was spacious and clean. We loved the free high speed internet. We were confused about how to get the micro-fridge to work. We naturally thought that it was broken when the fridge wasn't getting cold. We called maintanance who arrived within 20 minutes of our call. Maintenance was very nice. He instructed us as to what switch to flip to get the fridge to working. We had a great view of the pool, which we didn' t get a chance to use. The pool is located on the roof. The parking is nice and a safe place to keep your car. The breakfast that the hotel offers consists of biscuits and gravy, waffles, danishes, cereals, and juice. The hotel is a great location for walking downtown to sites like Beale St. The trolley is just a block away, and is a great means of transportation. If you are going to places downtown, I would suggest to just walk versus waiting on the trolley. By the time you wait on a trolley with vacant seats, you could have walked to where you are going. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a downtown hotel, and who doesn't want to spend a lot of money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Good Value, Large Room, Clean, very close to trolley. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

Stayed for 5 nights in June, spending 4 days seeing the sights of Memphis. The Comfort inn is situated on the top of a parking garage next to the river.

The hotel was fully booked when i arrived and i got a room on the top floor (15th) on the rear side - no river view! The room felt dark and the plant from the surronding buildings was very noisy. I changed rooms on my last night, getting an identical room on the 14th floor, overlooking the river. Had i had this room to begin with i would probably have felt more positive about my stay.

I have read reviews that state the hotel rooms have been refurbished, but it seemed that this had been done a while ago. The rooms and the public areas all look grubby. The decor in the rooms doesnt help as the colours are dark brown/ yellows which dont make it feel fresh. The pool is on the top of the parking garage next to the tower of rooms. The area is shared with a pool for an ajoining apartment block and the two pools are divided by a chain link fence that spoils an otherwise impressive outlook.

Breakfast stops at 9am in the week which if you are on vacation means no late nights, so i missed it a couple of times. Very basic fare but better than nothing. I didnt like the throwaway plastic cutlery and polysterene plates.

However I have no complaint about the staff, all of whom where very friendly, polite and helpfull. If you are in town for a couple of days, worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We stayed here on June 10, 06. The room was roomy. It is about 5 min. away for beale street, but just ride the trolley line($1.00 one way). We didnt walk back since got the last trolley about 12:45am. Parking is very sercure, but the lot did get full so after we got back from shopping, the car stayed put. I would stay here again because of the price/parking. I feel so cramped in room/ bathroom like the Holiday Inn. The thing negative was the distance but that's what the trolley is for. Easy to get to from the interstate also.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

If you want a clean room, a view, convient location and a very friendly staff for a great price (I paid less than $100 per night) stay at Comfort Inn in downtorm Memphis. Memphis is small enough to walk everywhere, but the trolly is right out the back and cabs are everywhere. As others have mentioned, ask for a with a view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

The Comfort Inn staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We stayed on the 10th floor and the maid Vivian was exceptionaly pleasant and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel and the location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#13 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.