We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, a few little glitches--” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
los angeles
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, a few little glitches--”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I followed the advice of a travel writer who spent a week-end in Memphis. he suggested this hoitel for value and location-- definitely all true and worthy of his praise. The room was nicely appointed BUT small. Too much noise in the hallway filled with college age kids thinking it was a dorm. Front desk did little to quiet them down after manager told of the commotion. No other rooms to go to as the hotel was filled. Breakfast included and it was OK. I had just been in 3 other Comfort Inns ( Tupelo, Starkville, Clarksdale ) on this road trip and all were just fine with no noisy neighbors. The best part of this was the value for the price and the location. Near everything, close to the trolley( inf ront of the hotel) and plenty to do as located 5 blocks from Beale St. Consider this a good find and ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    259
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
94
205
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Great hotel geared for tourists. Very friendly staff who can advise on all Memphis has to offer. Got a deal on Expedia and had a room with view of river. Breakfast is great with waffles, eggs available along side standard continental fare.
Was wary of comments about panhandlers but had no issues walking to/from Beale Street. Parking at $5/day was geat value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon hull uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

stayed for 3 nights over haloween had a great time ,staff were really good.even the cleaner taught me how to make waffles for breakfast.Easy to find and very handy for the trams to beale street.We got a seniors rate and had a massive room on the first floor,cheap parking right under the hotel.We felt safe even when walking back from beale street at 1 am.Had a fantastic time in memphis wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was exactly what was requested a room with a view over the Mississippi River. The hotel room was a good size and nicely decorated. The hotel provides free cookies and hot drinks in the recpetion which was great.
We found there was very little to do in Memphis itself but Graceland visit was well worth it.
Nice hotel and good central location

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Reasonably priced and well located but only city on our tour where we felt uncomfortable venturing out at night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

This hotel was perfect for our stay.The only down side to this hotel ,and downtown in general, for us was the pan handler's that are around when we walk from the hotel to catch one of the trams or strole down to beale street late in the day. The city is trying to solve this problem but it's difficult not to talk to someone who greets you with 'Hi, how you doing , you need any help ?'

We were lucky enough to have a view of the Mississipee on a high floor and we could have spent the whole time just enjoying the view.

The car park is located underneath the hotel and you use your room key to drive in and out after paying the $5 at recieption.

Breakfast is good and in keeping with most hotel breakfast choices.

There are slightly closer hotels to beale street but they simple won't have the veiw that you get with this hotel.

I'm actually writing this review from my hotel room (making use of the free internet) as this is the last night of our stay in Memphis. We've had an amazing holiday here and this hotel ha played it's part in that.

  • Liked — veiw
  • Disliked — slightly noisey nabours and ice machine but that being fussy.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Wanted to go to memphis for a saturday night but couldnt find a good price on a hotel. I had stayed here before and rooms were advertised starting at 109 + tax for four of us. We decided to just show up and get a room with no reservation. Great lady behind the desk offered us a walk-in special of 89 + tax. WE took it but was expecting very little for that rate and four twenty somethings carrying a cooler to their room! She directed us down the hall on the 1st floor. We passed through a doorway with EXECUTIVE SUITES on it. We get to our huge room with 2 queen size beds, big desk, fridge, microwave, and sink. There were also bottles of water and popcorn waiting for us.

The room and rate were awesome here! I will look to them in the future for their rooms, rates, and service. It was a great place to begin our day and end our night.

Until we meet again Memphis....

  • Liked — Location, Room rate, free hot breakfast
  • Disliked — parking fee is extra
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.