We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great River View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great River View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is the very best hotel in Memphis, and in my opinion the best Comfort Inn in the Country. I was there recently for a week. The staff always makes me feel like one of the family. From the way I am greeted at check-in to the breakfast I eat each morning, this place knows how to treat their guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you submitting a review to Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us in Downtown Memphis.
We are overwhelmed with your positive comments. Our staff makes every attempt to provide a great stay. We all appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you in the future.

Have a Healthy and Happy Holiday season,

Michael Krupp CHA
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    278
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
105
216
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, MO
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn during a trip to the Mizzou/Ole Miss football game in Oxford. We were taking a "Party" bus to the game & we met at the Comfort because some stayed there on Friday. We were leaving at noon & fortunately my room was already prepared for the evening & they let me check in & drop off my bag. The hotel was older, but very clean. The computer at the counter wasn't working so the clerk had to go back & forth to the manager's office to check in patrons so it took a while. We asked her for directions for some BBQ lunch & she sent us to a place that wasn't open yet & either didn't know about a place we found on the hotel's block or didn't like it (it turned out to be great). We didn't get back from the game until very late so it was nice that the bed was very comfortable & the room was quite pleasant. I had a great view of Mud Island & the Mississippi. No problems the next day checking out & the breakfast was very good (loved the biscuits & gravy!). They have underground parking that costs $8/day since it's probably not a good idea to park on the street.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a good view of the river, but the elevators are slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Downtown Memphis on your way to Oxford.
We appreciate your feedback and glad your stay was enjoyable. The view is an eye opener and we are glad you found our beds comfy. We did note any problems you had and have taken the necessary action to remedy the problem.

Thanks again for submitting a review to Tripadvisor.

Happy Holidays,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the Comfort Inn late afternoon after a long flight. The staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive! There was coffee and cookies in the lobby which we helped ourselves to whist waiting for our room key. I had a problem with the bath tub which was dealt with straight away! Our room was more than adequate! There was an ironing board, iron, fridge, coffee maker with coffee, tea bags and hot chocolate. We also had a great view of the Mississippi. Breakfast was between 6-9am which was ideal. There was a variety of hot and cold things to choose from The staff at breakfast were very helpful! Also, one of the staff helped us by letting us know about which buses we could get to shopping malls. I would definitley recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a central location. Everything is within walking distance or you can hop on the trolley bus for a dollar, or get an all day ticket for $3,50 which covers the trolley and bus service. If I was going back to Memphis, I would definitley come back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to offer our guests a legendary stay. I have passed along your complimentary comments to our staff. They were thrilled that you have a great experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Have a happy Holiday season,

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Comfort Inn, Downtown, Memphis, last week on our first visit to the City. It cost approximately $32 for a taxi from Memphis International Airport to the hotel.

The hotel is very clean, warm and comfortable and our room had a view of the Mississippi River. The Manager and staff are helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel is superb. The breakfast is excellent too with a lot to choose from including cereals, sausage/bacon/egg, biscuits/gravy, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries etc. and a range of cold drinks, tea and coffee.

Just around the corner from the hotel is Main Street, Downtown, and you can either walk along or take a trolley to the attractions of Beale Street and The Peabody Hotel (where the famous ducks march from the elevator at 11.00 a.m. each morning and back at 5.00 p.m.) The Civil Rights Museum and Bus Station are within easy reach too. It costs $1 for one journey on the trolley but if you pay $3.50 you can buy an all day ticket which can be used on the buses as well as the trolleys for the rest of the day and evening. We caught the trolley to the bus station and went to Oak Court and Wolfechase Malls and Memphis Zoo using our all day ticket, it’s really good value. If you are visiting Sun Studio, they run a free shuttle bus to and from Graceland and also stop off at Beale Street on the way back, so that was an added bonus.

I highly recommend The Comfort Inn to anyone looking for a very nice, comfortable stay in Downtown Memphis.

Lilian

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a view of the Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently in downtown Memphis and submitting a review to Tripadvisor.
Your glowing comments encourage our staff to always try to offer our guests a legendary stay.
I have passed your comments on to our staff. It made their day!

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Located close to the highway and Mud Island Rover Park is across the street. A little seedy but we didn't really walk around there very much. The front desk help wasn't very helpful and more concerned with socializing with friends and coworkers. They have parking underneath the hotel with in and out privileges. Room was just ok, nothing special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us in Downtown Memphis.
Our goal is to offer every guest a great stay. I apologize if we fell below your expectations.
Any feedback you can offer me will allow us to improve our performance.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to have opportunity to serve in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and chose the hotel based upon reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel did not disappoint. For less than $100/night, I had an "executive suite" with comfortable king size bed, desk, sitting area, microwave/fridge/small sink, and a large bathroom. The room rate includes free breakfast and Wi-Fi, and the room included complimentary bottles of water and a microwave popcorn pack. My room was very clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this for the business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you staying with us in Memphis and submitting a Tripadvisor review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities well suited for a business traveler.
We hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey York Co
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights...location is 6 blocks off of Beale which was our reason for coming to Memphis. It was very easy to get to off the interstate, check in was fast, parking is in an underground garage. Our room had a king bed, fridge, microwave and safe and a great view of the river and pyramid. Free internet, great free continental breakfast with waffles, bacon, eggs, sausage, fruit, etc. Coffee and cookies in the lobby if you times it right. The only small complaint was a very loud heater.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us in downtown Memphis.
Our staff is encouraged by your "great stay" with us.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.