We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just return from Memphis. Stayed at this hotel.First the locaton is great. Front desk(Tasha) was awesome. Check in was quick The room was large, had a city view. Great. There was some issues in the batroom,but Tasha took care of that in a flash. Walked to Beale street.Had a great time. Took the trolley to the Civil Rights Center.A must see for everyone.Beale street was great. Felt safe. Police present was everywhere. Now back to the hotel. The breakfast was filling. It was fresh. All in all the hotel was great. The customer service is something other hotels can take a page from from.Whereverer you eat,you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our staff, thank you for complimentary comments. Your input allows us to continue to strive for the best in guest satisfaction. I have passed your comments on to Tasha King, our Front Office Manager ( a 15 year team member). It is so good to read your comments about the downtown area.

Thanks again for your feedback,

We look forward to serving you again in the future,

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    240
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
89
182
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to Celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary with a visit to the home of Blues & Elvis. - We found the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis to be the ideal location as it was within a 6 block walk, approximately 10 minutes, from Beale Street and many of the delights of downtown Memphis. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them - the rooms are clean and well appointed. The pool on the 9th floor is superb and you can look out over onto the Mississippi river Mud Island and the "M" Bridge as well as the Pyramid. All in all a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Comfort Inn in Downtown Memphis.
We were honored to have you spend your 30th anniversary with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to sharing many more anniversaries with you.
Thank you for your comments, we have passed them along to our staff.

Very sincerely,
Michael Krupp CHA

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After studying the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis reviews and the value, we booked with them for a December 2013 weekend. Tasha was so sweet and accomodating when I called to book a room. Can't wait to stay there!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you sincerely for submitting a Tripadvisor review about your upcoming stay with us.
It is indeed gratifying to hear your positive feedback about our staff even before you arrive. I have passed your comments along to Tasha King, our Front Office Manager.
We look forward to your arrival later this year when we can show you true southern hospitality.

Very sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My biggest thing with hotels is do you get value for what you paid. You get that and more at the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis. We were trying to decide between the Holiday Inn Select and Comfort Inn and based on Trip Advisor reviews decided to pick this one. We are very glad we did. It is nice to see Trip Advisor working. Check-in, girls were pleasant and fast. My negatives on the check-in was too much chatting with co-workers at the desk as they did answer our questions but we felt very rushed as they wanted to get on with their conversation. Check-out was fast and efficient but she was having her breakfast at the time and that seemed a tad unprofessional. We received our request for higher floor(14th) and had a great side view of the Mississippi. Room was a nice size, clean and very comfortable. Was cleaned well daily. Negatives here is that a little maintenance goes a long way, Our washroom door was very difficult to shut at the latch and the shower head cover at the wall was falling off. Asthetic things, but noticeable. Pool on the 9th floor was great, clean, not crowded, towels available and a great view. Location of hotel was fantastic. We parked the car for three days, walked to the cruise, Mud Island, Beale street, Civil rights Museum, Rendezvous and Rock and Soul Museum(Note:Free shuttle from this point will take you to Graceland and back). Even better, if you don't fancy walking, take the trolley for $1. There is a stop right around the back corner. Breakfast was good and plentiful, never needed lunch as we filled ourselves up. Two great ladies taking care of everybody. Restaurants all around, recommend Aldo's Pizza Pies and Kooky Canucks. Can give Rendezvous a miss. In Summary, book this hotel with confidence for your Memphis stay!

Positives: Location, breakfast, room, pool, value
Negatives: maintenance(small items), parking(great value at $8 but parking is tight and people don't know how to park. my wife received a door ding on her new car;-(

Room Tip: Higher floor - 10 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It is so gratifying to read about your stay at our Comfort Inn, in Downtown Memphis.
Our staff tries to make every stay, a legendary experience.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Krupp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived in Memphis on August 25th for five days. When we got to the hotel to check in the girl behind the desk was very helpful. Her name is Tasha. Her shift had just finished but she had the patience and courtesy to answer all of our question, five star rating for Tasha. We asked for the corner room and she gave it to us on the 15th floor overlooking the Mississippi river. Our room was very clean and the cleaning staff on the 15th floor always asked if everything is ok. There is an outdoor pool with towels supplied and the pool is very clean also. This hotel is right beside the trolley’s that take you around downtown Memphis. You don’t have to use a car in Memphis everything is in walking or tramway distance. The hotel also will help you reserve tours to Graceland, etc. Great stay and we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the corner room's, great view of the Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I have passed along your compliments to our staff and especially Tasha.
It is gratifying to read your feedback regarding your stay.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Have a wonderful Labor day Weekend.
Very Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
Exec VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn garden city
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Gracelands, Memphis Riverboats, Sun studio , Rock n Soul, Stax Museum.
Get a combo ticket from the Rock n soul Museum just off Beale Street. Good music and you can take your beer and move from bar to bar. Pulled port was great. Dont forget to take $1s to tip the band. Dont bother with the extra part of Graceland it was a long walk and there were just shops ???

Room Tip: stayed in room 1111 good size. good dip pool. hotel tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you staying with us recently in downtown Memphis.
We are glad you enjoyed the attractions in our city and hope your stay was enjoyable.
When visiting again, we look forward to serving you again.

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've had very limitied experience with Memphis so I did a lot of trip advisor research before booking. Overall this lived up to the majority of the reviews I read prior to our trip. For downtown it is a very good location. We opted for a river view and glad we did. Huge windows and a very large room. Overall the room were good. The downside was the bathroom. The toliet/bath area was dated and can use a remodel. It appears to be as clean as they can get it considering the age. Everything else in the room was clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly. I agree with some other reviews that it appears they can use some more help at the front desk as it was always busy. Breakfast area was good size and a nice variety. The ladies working the area were friendly and always working hard. From what we witnesses walking around Memphis this was likely as safe and clean a location that you will find in downtown. You are a block away from the main street trolley. Walking you are about seven blocks to Beale. It appeared the Court Square and Beale Street hotels would be too loud for my taste, and more pan-handlers. AS an fyi for downtown, we found the beggars much more aggressive than other major cities. I would suggest not engaging in conversation as we saw several incidents where they would not leave people alone once they started their pitch for money. That is a city of Memphis issue, not the Comfort Inn. With the Comfort there is none of that going on at their doors or sidewalks so you can feel safe. We did a lot of walking and just learning what areas to avoid and who to speak with. The location is very close to Mud Island and we enjoyed that attraction. They do charge for parking but it is reasonable for the area. If you are looking at downtown the Comfort is a safe location and a great value. Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Consider the upcharge for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.