We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but there are downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
dublin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location but there are downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Unlike Nashville there is no option in Memphis to stay out of town, so I stayed here. It is about a mile from the Civil Rights Museum & not too far from Beale Street. The room was clean, breakfast was very good & the swimming pool outside was memorable!

Downside : Lots of staff walking around at reception or in car park talking to eachother, doing nothing or eating their lunch at reception. In a place like Memphis I found that kind of creepy. I was on the ground floor on the main street and had a poor nights sleep. The air conditioning had to come on and was very load. In the evening time there was security and a police car there for a while. My stuff was save but decided 1 night was enough in Memphis!

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up in the hotel. The ground floor was noisy! The air conditioning was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    243
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
91
185
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great location for downtown Memphis. We were just steps from the trolley and steps from the walkway to the Mississippi River Mud Park. The breakfast was outstanding. The desk clerk was friendly and the cleaning staff was helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a flat screen tv. Everything was clean, good quality bedding, pillows and fluffy towels. There was a coffee maker in the room although we did not use it since there is free coffee available all day in the lobby. There was also a fridge, microwave and in-room safe. Free breakfast was okay, usual stuff on offer such as muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, tea, coffee, juice, waffle maker etc. All the action is down on Beale Street and you can walk there from this hotel in about 15 minutes or go on the streetcar/trolley for $1 per person each way or $3 for all day unlimited travel. All the staff we met at this hotel was lovely, they were genuinely friendly and always willing to help with directions, ideas etc. Free wifi in rooms and computer in lobby area. The parking is $8 per day, very reasonable and use your room card to gain access to the parking garage. Elevators from garage up to all floors. The weather was a bit unsettled during our stay and the pool did not appear to be in use. Would stay here again if/when we visit Memphis again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The room was clean and nice, if not luxurious. The best part was the desk staff who were super friendly and helpful with prompt responses to our requests. The breakfast was fairly sizeable for the price- eggs, biscuits, bagels, coffee etc. We had a coffee maker in the room, fridge, and microwave. The only (very small) downside is that, unlike numerous other Memphis hotels, the Comfort Inn does not have an airport shuttle; probably b/c most of the guests rent cars. If you take a cab both ways, this adds about $60 to your stay. I took the very cheap bus in, which took an hour and doesn't run on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an executive suite which was spacious, clean,quiet, with easy access from I40. For any extra $8 nightly there is underground parking. Most of the downtown and riverfront are reachable by walking or the Memphis Trolley. Breakfast is included. Breakfast fare includes hot entree and full continental. Other hotels are located in same area, but we got price we could not pass up

Room Tip: king executive room gives you loads of space and several easy chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really nice location in the heart of Memphis. Had a first floor room but it was quiet and heard no noise from outside traffic. Staff was friendly and the breakfast area was clean. Parking was slightly expensive but not bad and easy to get into and out of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good price, a good location and decent enough breakfast make this place an acceptable choice but for us that's where it stopped.
It's a hotel which has a dated '70's feel about it. The room was quite noisy, either from street noise or the old fashioned AC unit. We were allocated a disabled room which didn't really add to the comfort level.
Some of the staff were business like but not particularly friendly and the room maid was officious knocking our door at 8am to clean the room then telling us off because we hadn't put a 'do not disturb' label outside .
Midweek breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a bit early in our opinion,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.