We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great location for downtown Memphis. We were just steps from the trolley and steps from the walkway to the Mississippi River Mud Park. The breakfast was outstanding. The desk clerk was friendly and the cleaning staff was helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilenemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a flat screen tv. Everything was clean, good quality bedding, pillows and fluffy towels. There was a coffee maker in the room although we did not use it since there is free coffee available all day in the lobby. There was also a fridge, microwave and in-room safe. Free breakfast was okay, usual stuff on offer such as muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, tea, coffee, juice, waffle maker etc. All the action is down on Beale Street and you can walk there from this hotel in about 15 minutes or go on the streetcar/trolley for $1 per person each way or $3 for all day unlimited travel. All the staff we met at this hotel was lovely, they were genuinely friendly and always willing to help with directions, ideas etc. Free wifi in rooms and computer in lobby area. The parking is $8 per day, very reasonable and use your room card to gain access to the parking garage. Elevators from garage up to all floors. The weather was a bit unsettled during our stay and the pool did not appear to be in use. Would stay here again if/when we visit Memphis again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeLittleHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The room was clean and nice, if not luxurious. The best part was the desk staff who were super friendly and helpful with prompt responses to our requests. The breakfast was fairly sizeable for the price- eggs, biscuits, bagels, coffee etc. We had a coffee maker in the room, fridge, and microwave. The only (very small) downside is that, unlike numerous other Memphis hotels, the Comfort Inn does not have an airport shuttle; probably b/c most of the guests rent cars. If you take a cab both ways, this adds about $60 to your stay. I took the very cheap bus in, which took an hour and doesn't run on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an executive suite which was spacious, clean,quiet, with easy access from I40. For any extra $8 nightly there is underground parking. Most of the downtown and riverfront are reachable by walking or the Memphis Trolley. Breakfast is included. Breakfast fare includes hot entree and full continental. Other hotels are located in same area, but we got price we could not pass up

Room Tip: king executive room gives you loads of space and several easy chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom2831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really nice location in the heart of Memphis. Had a first floor room but it was quiet and heard no noise from outside traffic. Staff was friendly and the breakfast area was clean. Parking was slightly expensive but not bad and easy to get into and out of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good price, a good location and decent enough breakfast make this place an acceptable choice but for us that's where it stopped.
It's a hotel which has a dated '70's feel about it. The room was quite noisy, either from street noise or the old fashioned AC unit. We were allocated a disabled room which didn't really add to the comfort level.
Some of the staff were business like but not particularly friendly and the room maid was officious knocking our door at 8am to clean the room then telling us off because we hadn't put a 'do not disturb' label outside .
Midweek breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a bit early in our opinion,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights. The hotel was easy to find from the interstate and close to Beale street. The underground parking was very convenient, but our room key (and access to the garage was deactivated after our first night. They quickly remedied the problem though. The room was very basic and the bathroom was very dated, but everything was clean. There is not an ice machine on every floor, but there was one the floor below. We didn't end up eating breakfast there, only because it we had other plans. the front desk was helpful in directing us to the trolley, and I appreciate the fact that there is a security guard in the lobby. The only issue we had was that the first night was charged to the card we held the room with, but this wasn't communicated to us at check in. it was fine, and the charge was reversed upon checkout (i think, it wasn't there a few days later), but i really would have appreciated a heads up on the billing, it was very confusing. This is not the best hotel we've stayed in, but it is clean and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarties79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 135 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
The Peabody Memphis
#7 of 135 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madison Hotel
#10 of 135 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing