We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis for 3 nights. It was the perfect location.
From our room and the roof top pool, we had a view of the Mississippi River.
We were close enough to restaurants and downtown to walk to dinner and to Beale Street. Our room was clean and everything worked. We liked the breakfast which had a good selection of hot and cold items as well as fresh fruit. Overall, it was a very good value and we would recommend it to others. (The outdoor pool was a real welcome after sightseeing all day in 90 degree heat!)

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    259
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
94
205
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were upgraded to a larger corner room with a view of the pool and Mississippi. The room was huge with a separate changing area and the sink outside of the bathroom which makes it convenient to get ready. This is an older hotel that has been upgraded and for the most part is well maintained. In our bathroom, the wallpaper was starting to peel and the shower nozzle was starting to come out of the wall, but those were the only minor flaws I could find within the very clean room. The two old elevators could be very slow due to the large amount of use by the shared parking lot patrons of the adjoining apartment building. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to Beale Street and half a block from the Main Street trolley. The price per night was very reasonable compared to other downtown hotels, and the parking was reasonable ($8). The included breakfast was adequate with a few more selections than most continental breakfasts and several hot choices; there was plenty of seating at the attractive breakfast area, and the breakfast attendant worked hard to keep things stocked and clean. The pool with the view of the Mississippi was refreshing after a hot day of sightseeing. The pool was maintained regularly and very relaxing. The pool had a metal bottom that would make a popping noise when stepped on which could be disconcerting, but after the second day of 100 degree weather, I got used to it. All the staff members we encountered were friendly. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at this Inn 4 nights and were pleased with Management, front desk staff and maid service.
The room was in a quiet area. It was the size of a suite with a great view. we were impressed with the cleanliness of this room. Also, greatful the room had a safe deposit box.
Traveling was a cinch. trolley and public bus service were nearby. We visited all sites and events on our itinerary. Beal street was another world. Lively and upbeat.
Everyone was friendly and had a story to tell. we loved every minute of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great hotel. Good location. The trolley is just 1/2 block away. Everything is within walking distance. The underground parking was a little tight but we parked our truck on the upper levels and had no problems. Hotel rooms were spacious and clean. The staff went out of their way to help us with maps and directions and things to do! The continental breakfast bar had everything on it. Very tasty and good coffee!! Would definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

What I liked:
1. The staff was friendly.
2. The room was clean and a flat-screen TV with a lot of channels. I just wish they had Versus so I could have watched the NHL playoffs.
3. The hotel was well maintained in spite of it being an older building.
4. The parking charge was reasonable. Eight dollars a day for downtown anywhere is not bad.
5. That was the best continental breakfast I've ever had in terms of the selection of items available. I addition to the standard continental breakfast items, they had biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, and waffles. All for the unbeatable price of $0.
6. The hotel is well situated. Beale St., Union Ave., and the FedEx Forum are within walking distance.

What I didn't like:
Seriously, nothing. The comment about Versus is the most negative thing I can say.

I've stayed in quite a few hotels before, and with the exception of Disney resorts, which I place in a class by themselves, I would say that this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in in terms of overall experience.

Room Tip: The larger room with the river view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I had never stayed in Memphis and this was a great 1st experience! It was strange because the friendliest person we ran across was our housekeeper! we were only there for one night, but everytime she was cleaning and we walked out she was always asking "How is your stay, you all need anything" I believe her name was vivian. They also had a GREAT continental brekfast lots of choices, healthy ones too. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The hotel is old, but meticulously maintained, Very clean. Had a great stay. Easy walk to Beale Street in the daylight---don't know if I'd walk it after dark. The best thing was the staff! From check-in, to check out, every single person we encountered was cheerful helpful, friendly. Excellent, excellent. Hotel manager-- give those people a raise!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.