We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5877 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Park Place Hotel Memphis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pros: The staff were all nice and helpful, the breakfast buffet was great (and the staff at breakfast were especially nice), the pool was adequate for kids to enjoy, the gym was pretty decent, and the rates were quite reasonable.
Cons: Entering and exiting the parking lot is as harrowing as others have said. There is no restaurant or bar actually in the hotel. You have to go across the parking lot for a hotel. One night, we ordered pizza at 11:00. The delivery person knocked on our door, having been allowed all the way up to our room with no call from the front desk. That made me worry about their security measures.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    66
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
42
34
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Came here on a visit to Memphis. I have done several visits to memphis must of them are quick in and out. I tried going to some motels, but I could not get a decent night sleep due to the beds being in such bad shape. However this hotel is wonderful. It is very clean, and the facilities are in very good shape and they keep them looking new and pretty. The lobby people where plenty nice. However we understood the breakfast was free (or at least that Is what i understood the guy at front dest told me, however when my husband ate it in the morning, they gave him a bill) so it is not free.
All and all I think everyone will have a good night here and it is a good hotel worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The people were nice and helpful. All hotels were sold out except this one. It was pleasant and they served coffee and tea in the hallway all hours. The only problem was an old elevator that was unairconditioned. They also charge for breakfast but it was all you can eat. Nice restaurant next door. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortney O, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Judylporter,
We're glad to hear that you had a good experience with us, and I'm particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dining services!
I am sorry that you had to deal with the discomfort of the elevator. I know that air conditioning is important in our Memphis summers! Based on your rating, I'm confident that your room temperature was more comfortable, and I hope that the elevator experience didn't overshadow the rest of your good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel itself is nice and we were satisfied with the room until we wanted to shower. The water was barely lukewarm. We called and they sent a maintenance worker up that proceeded to tell us that it was hot (even though I could hold my hand under jut the hot water without moving it) and that the reason that it wasn't more hot was because hotels couldn't have real hot water because it would scald people. REALLY? This is not my first hotel stay. I have had plenty of hot water in other hotels. I expect to have to cut my hot with a little cold to make it comfortable. Luckily, we were heading home the next morning and not to an even that required us to shower there as the next morning, there was not even lukewarm water. I reported it to the front desk when we checked out and they seemed unconcerned, but said they'd check it. I'm sure they didn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortney O, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
First, let me say that I am glad to hear about your overall satisfaction with the hotel.
However, I am very sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by a lack of hot water in your room. I can assure you that any such complaints that are brought to our front desk staff are indeed investigated and addressed, though I apologize that it was not resolved to your satisfaction during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The personnel is very friendly and nice. The rooms are worn and need updates. The bathrooms are too tight.
The hotel is in the desirable Memphis East area with more than enough high quality restaurants.
It's in a very safe area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortney O, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review! We are in a fantastic part of the city, and we're glad you enjoyed the location as well as our friendly staff!
I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be in need of an update. As I'm sure you could tell from our decor and the style of our furniture, we strive to stay modern and current.
I understand that the bathrooms in the rooms are not extremely roomy, but we hope that the comfort of the rest of the guest room, where we anticipate our guests will spend the majority of their time in the hotel, counteracts any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. They gave us tips on restaurants and fun things to do. We were pleased with the updated and attractive lobby, along with our room which was very clean comfortable. The only problem was a very small bathroom but it wasn't a huge hindrance. My husband and I enjoyed the free coffee in the lobby, however, a complimentary continental breakfast would have been nice but lack of breakfast is understandable considering the price. The kids enjoyed the pool, which was clean and in good condition.

We did experience a couple of problems during our 4 night stay. First of all, the tub did not clog for the first couple of showers. It was pretty gross. So, we called the front desk and they sent a technician right away. I then requested housekeeping to come and clean the tub due to the standing water and they sent someone up almost immediately. Second of all, the location is a bit of a headache since it is in the middle of a highway but once you figure the system out, it's not too bad.

Overall, the stay was pleasant and satisfactory, especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortney O, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
JMSFam,
As the Guest Services Manager, I'm extremely glad that you found our staff and our service so helpful and friendly! We're also pleased to hear that you and your family felt that you received a great value for your cost!
I am very sorry to hear that you had issues with your room's shower and tub. However, I am happy that the service you received in righting this problem was prompt, efficient, and courteous!
We also understand that the unique location of our hotel and the two other properties on the median of Poplar Avenue can seem complicated at first, but I see that you quickly got the hang of it.
It's good to hear that your children enjoyed our pool. We're glad to offer that amenity to give some extra comfort and recreation during our hot and humid summers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed in Memphis for one night, for that I'm grateful. The professional pictures make this place look stellar, so I was a bit disappointed when we got there. Front reception people were friendly and check in went fine. Then we got to our room and the floor was wet from the window A/C unit about five feet out into the room. They acted like because it had rained that day, that it was normal for the floor to be wet. Before we took our shoes off and noticed the wet floor we saw the there were stains on the bed skirt and a very worn/damaged area in the carpet right inside the door. The front desk moved us without hesitation when we informed then of the wet floor, as well as offering us free drinks for the trouble. When we got to the next room, first thing we did was feel the floor, yep it was wet too. Although, it was only a foot or two out into the room, so we just dealt with it. They charge $6 for continental breakfast and $10 for buffet, needless to say we didn't try it. The shower had very little pressure and the bathroom had no exhaust fan. Pretty loud traffic, two busy streets on each side of the hotel. Overall, a pretty disappointing stay. I wouldn't stay again, if we ever come back through Memphis.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortney O, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, though I am pleased that your experience with the front desk staff was positive. Both they and the rest of our staff do try our hardest to resolve any issues that arise during a stay, and I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East

Address: 5877 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119 (Formerly Park Place Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East hotel is near the business corridor, Beale Street, and Graceland. This Memphis hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle and free wifi with guest's hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Memphis East
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Park Place Memphis
Memphis Park Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.