We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alarmed by first impressions but turned out to be OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Alarmed by first impressions but turned out to be OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We chose this one as a base for touring down town Memphis. C researched the travel flyers picked up at the TN tourist information and we decided the location looked OK. Until we arrived there. The exit off I-55 took us under a tunnel and past several derelict buildings so I'm getting more apprehensive the nearer we get. The place didn't look very welcoming from the outside, a very old and tired concrete block. After enquiring at reception for a room and presenting our voucher we were offered a ground-floor room. At this point we noticed that the staff were running a shuttle to Beale Street for $3 each way - so now I'm less apprehensive about "downtown Memphis". Our room - metal door looked like it had been crowbarred open at some point during it's life. Key card didn't work first time so a trip back to reception to get that sorted.Fixtures and fittings looked old and tired, however the bed was clean and comfortable and there was a safe, a TV and free Wi-Fi. We noticed an outdoor pool and terrace that was available for use but we never had time to try it.

Staff really were friendly and it all appeared to be run by the same extended family. They took us to Beale St. in their shuttle, all we had to do was call them when we were ready and they came and picked us up where they left us earlier (by the statue of Elvis).

Slept OK, everything functional in the room even if it was well worn. Breakfast looked OK but unfortunately it was extremely busy and cramped in the dining room so we decided we'd breakfast elsewhere.

So to sum up - the location may be a bit down-market but the hotel staff and service more than compensated for this!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    57
    64
    103
See reviews for
54
87
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadsten, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Sorry my enligsh, but im Danish.......

I'd never want to see this dump again, and i would never wish for enyone to stay here.......

I cant say anything positive...... And to top it all, i got bit all over by bet bugs.........

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed in this motel despite all the bad reviews b/c I am the type to have to form my own opinion. I have to admit, I was a little leery and thought this was going to be a roach motel. It was THAT bad. Our room was clean, the furniture wasn't top of the line but it's what you would expect only paying $50/night. Some of these reviews suggest this motel is horrible as far as cleanliness. I had no problems other than the rude man working the desk on the night shift. He was HORRIBLE. First, he wasn't pleasant as he greeted us which wasn't a big deal b/c I understand not everyone has the knack for customer service. After we checked in and went to our room we discovered the card that he gave us was not activated properly and our door wouldn't open. So, my b/f went back down to let him know and he supposedly reactivated the card but still no luck. He went down a second time and the guy was clearly upset that he had to stop watching Indian porn (i'm not sure this is what he was watching but me and my b /f made that joke) to do his job. He had this facial expression that someone just robbed the place or something. He didn't speak two words to us as he came and opened our door even after we kindly said "thank you". He acted like we were inconveniencing him. Other than that, the motel was fine. Plus, it was only a few miles from downtown.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

I'm visiting from Los Angeles I book this room cause they say they are downtown, that's good for me cause i didn't want to rent a car i can walk where i need to go. This location are at least five miles from everything there's no stores, restaurants or anything. They do have a shuttle that supposed to take you downtown the problem is you might can catch the shuttle.
you better off taken i taxi, the hotel room i stay in was great and quited the the soda machine have warm sodas and the ATM machine don't work. If you planning on staying at this location rent you a car cause the location is isolated from everything and the staff seems to don't care about there customers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Talk about opening the door and stepping into a horror movie!! My sister and I - two middle aged women - took a trip to see Elvis, and we booked this hotel on line looking at the great pictures! Wow, now that was a mistake. We got there late, about 10pm, you go around a very scary curve, under what seems like a wall in a dark, black area in what I would say is a very run down part of Memphis. The hotel was in a very desolite area, with some lights. My sister stayed in the car when I went in to see if we were in the right place. The two very young girls at the desk were not so friendly, stumbled to answer questions of the area, and seemed very uninterested in anything I was bothering them with. So, I check in and go get all are stuff and my sister, we have to go into this 50 year old elevator that some guy had to mess around with to get it to open. I did not want to even get in it, it smelled like musk. So we get up to our floor and roll out our stuff to bump into about 8 people on the balcony we had to manuver around as they were just drinking and parting and I don't know what? Not happy about that at all, we said ok lets just look at the room, in we go and neither one of us wanted to touch anything, the tub was still dirty, the light in the bathroom didn't work and the toilet was dirty. The only good thing about this was they gave me our money back. Quickly! We spent 2 hours trying to find another hotel in Memphis - which is a bigger story! We finally settled for the Holiday Inn Airport - all inside very clean - nice people, but you can hear the airplanes at like 1am and 5am. Oh well better than Motel 8!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I was looking for a no frills inexpensive place to sleep prior to the St Jude Half Marathon. The room met the purpose and I saw none of the "horrors" that had been expressed in other reviews of this hotel. Hotel staff was helpful and the room was clean. The continental breakfast was typical. The hotel apparently brought me luck as I was an award winner in the race.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel was in obvious need of an extreme makeover, but the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed on the fifth floor and the elevator and planes leaving the airport were noisy after 3 a.m.
Breakfast was better than expected..simple but adequate. Overall...I would stay here again for the cost, but if your looking for trained ducks you better stick to the Peabody.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Address: 340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Memphis / Downtown / Graceland Area Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.