We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't say I didn't warn you!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Iowa, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't say I didn't warn you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Find somewhere else to stay! This hotel is in a super shady area surrounded by abandoned buildings with broken windows. There's a train track nearby that is very busy and very loud. You can hear everything going on in your neighbors' rooms. There are just a lot of extra noises you can hear in your room that make sleeping very difficult. We also never had bath towels because they were always "in the wash." The shuttle they offer is nice even though you must pay a bit for it, and the lady who drove us was very friendly. It's a nice distance from Beale St. The little rat turds in the bath tub were a nice touch. The counter and sink are outside the bathroom which is nice for people trying to get ready while others are showering. Then that makes the bathroom with the toilet and shower very small. We were a big group of college kids going for football and New Year's Eve so it was fine for us to handle, but I would NOT stay here alone or with a family. Especially not kids.

Room Tip: I guess I would ask for a side opposite of the train tracks, but then you'd have to stare at cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    58
    64
    103
See reviews for
54
88
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel right around the corner of I-55. A few restaurants are a mile away and the actual downtown area is about 4 miles away. The hotel needs a lot of improvements. The elevators were being fixed so I had to take the stairs which are in the back of the building, outside. It snowed so the stairs were icy and I had to be careful not to fall and break my neck. The room wouldn't get warm for anything. You could feel the warmth if you sat at the table and chairs but no where else. The bathroom door scrubbed against the ceiling so the door wouldn't close and the ceiling was coming apart from the rubbing of the door top against it. The room was only $44 bucks which wasn't bad but I wish it was a little better inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The room was freezing when we arrived, we didn't think the heater worked. Eventually it did start, but when we called they didn't have extra blankets we could use. Also the shower would not turn off and ran lightly all night. When we called about that they implied it wasn't the only room and said it couldn't be fixed that night, but it wasn't fixed during the day either. When we asked about memphis the staff member was very negative, saying he hated it there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I checked in on December 29th and the nightmare began. The area the hotel is in is spooky. There are bums and such wandering around. The first room we checked into had no heat at 30 degrees outside(and inside). We found a moldy loaf of bread behind the nightstand, just disgusting. I went to get a another room and after 3 keys that room was no good. Finally we get another room and this one has a heater that kept it around 55 degrees. We woke up the next morning and discovered a cockroach on the wall so we packed up and left. I paid nearly $80 for the room, atrocious!!! We never once were offered an apology or discount or anything. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The perfect stay over hotel. Is it fancy? Nope. Is it dated? Yep. But sheets were clean and shower was hot. Fridge was great for refreshing our ice packs and chilling food for the road. Built in hair dryer, coffee pot, minimal free breakfast, microwave. For 45.00, you can't ask for much more. We arrived very late and they were still helpful. Area is a bit removed from downtown but they had a shuttle for like 8.00, it's an older industrial side of town, but did not feel unsafe. Don't fool yourself, this is not a vacation motel, but great for a quick stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked this motel for my daughter. The employees at this hotel are so nice and courtious!!! Even though my daughter should be checking out at 11 am, they are letting her to stay in the hotel room until the evening free of charge because her train doesn't leave until 10.40 pm of the day. I wish more hotels were this considerate to customers ;-))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Address: 340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Memphis / Downtown / Graceland Area Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.