We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary! Scary! Scary!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
1 review
“Scary! Scary! Scary!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this motel to anyone. The chairs were stained, big gap under the door (bugs can get in), stained tub, dirty, dirty, dirty and in a very high crime area or minutes to it. The only "good" thing was that because we checked in at 3am we got a small discount & the bed was comfy. Originally we booked through Hotwire for Saturday 9/1 check in - we were skeptical because of the reviews online & tried to get a refund right away, but couldn't. So, we figured that since we staying there Sat night we'd get the extra night when we rolled in at 3am. Bad idea. My boyfriend went to McDonald's, came back & said we were in a really bad area & we finding another room. Hotwire was good & refunded our money & put us in the Sheraton. DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    62
    65
    112
See reviews for
59
93
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Save your money this the worse motel I have ever seen. This is a no star motel the tub was dirty and nasty. The small ice box should have been taken out and burn. It was just as bad as the shower look. There was bugs crawing around. The safe look like somone had take a dump on it. They gave you a coffee maker in the room with no coffee. When you call and ask for coffee for the coffee maker they act like you are bothering them. They had a radio in the room but, it do not work.

What a waste of time and money me and my wife would had have a better night sleeping in our car park in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

DONT COME HERE! Its nasty. We had to change to 3 different room. The 1st room had mold in the shower ceiling and it was caving In. The 2nd room the toilet wouldnt flush the bathroom was still dirty the shower walls had build up and the floors, just gross. Parking was horrible, they were 2 close and half the time u couldnt find a parking space u had to park on the street. Raggedy, run down, trashy, old hotel. We couldnt even get clean towels until almost 10pm. If anyone on here say anything good about this place, then obvious a worker/owner of this hotel had to write it. Run dont waste your time. I have so much more to say so just ready the other review cause it true. I will NEVER COME TO THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is very cheap and they offer a nice shuttle service to city center ($3/person). The breakfast served was ok compared to what you find in this range of hotels. We found the rooms not to be as clean as could be expected - and several incidents of bed-bugs were reported.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This motel is in a shady looking part of town but the alternatives are in the hundreds of dollars. I got a shuttle bus to Beale street for 3 bucks and a taxi back for 10. My room is clean as a whistle and well presented. It's an older building but the presentation and staff attitude is miles ahead of other places I've stayed for a lot more money. No funny smells and the air on works good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Super 8 is a budget hotel,the staff are fiendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable.I have two concerns however.1-It's not downtown or near Gacelands it's isolated.2-The keys access every room (as I found when I accidently walked into someone else's)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A cockroach on the balcony pillar outside our room coupled with a half-inch crack under the door to our room (door sweep was broken/missing) prompted me to start a written list of the many disappointments of our four-day stay here! The parking lot is so small that about a third of the folks staying were forced to park either in the street or in the abandoned lot of a crumbling building across the street. Despite the inadequate number of parking spaces, there was a disabled (abandoned?) vehicle--raised on car jacks with wheel removed alongside a construction truck--occupying two prime parking spots in the lot for our entire four-day stay. They never moved!

Peeling paint, stained rugs, a broken toilet handle assembly that eventually was replaced before the end of our stay, broken and missing louvers on the A/C unit, totally non-functional emergency stairwell lighting that was revealed during a 2+ hour power outage, a saw kerf more than a quarter inch deep in the cast counter top of the sink along with no alarm clock whatsoever in the room lengthened the list of complaints (all documented with photographs) which will be filed with the Wyndham Hotel management group shortly. The hot tub advertised on their website turned out to be a misrepresentation of sorts----as there is only one ROOM with a spa----not one that's available to all of the guests. Also, the outdoor pool was unusable upon our arrival as it was being filled with water. Expecting to arrive to a recently-updated motel renovation (the website claims a 2010 renovation), we had ground-to-roof scaffolding within a few feet of our room. Cobwebs throughout all of the balcony railings and cigarette butts and ashes in the stairwells that remained there throughout our stay demonstrated the state of neglect this hotel is experiencing.

Not only is this Super 8 located directly along a major highway, it is also a few hundred yards from what must be a major train docking station----as the squeal of brakes, the clanging of cars being connected and disconnected, and the roar of locomotive engines continued all through the night!! Needless to say, this will be the last time we book a room online for an extended stay with a non-refundable clause so far in advance, as the management would not consider a refund upon our arrival.

The one redeeming aspect of this establishment was that the wait staff and office clerks were very polite and courteous.

Room Tip: IF you MUST stay here, at least demand a room on the side AWAY from the train tracks and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area

Address: 340 West Illinois Street, I-55 Exit 12C, Memphis, TN 38106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Memphis / Downtown / Graceland Area Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Memphis - Downtown / Graceland Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.