We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn at Court Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

This is a really nice, good value and well located hotel with very pleasant staff.
The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. The air conditioning was great! Very good shower and no complaints.
Same with breakfast. Tea, coffee, fruit juice, cereal, bagels, pastries, muffins - plenty to keep you going through the best part of the day.
I'd recommend this hotel to visitors to Memphis - we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    154
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
153
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

My wife and I planned a Memorial Day weekend getaway to Memphis. I'd never been before, and she'd only been for a business trip. So we wanted to do all the quintessential Memphis things: Beale Street, Graceland, barbeque, etc.

We'd had good results with a Sleep Inn on two recent trips to New Orleans. So, when I saw there was a newly-built Sleep Inn between Front and Main Streets in Memphis, five blocks from Beale, I booked our room.

Rate:
A non-smoking queen was $88/night for Friday and Saturday nights, with the rate dropping to $79 for Sunday night. This rate was obtained directly from the Sleep Inn website, and was better than the rates I obtained at Expedia or Travelocity. I thought this was very reasonable, considering it was a holiday weekend. This hotel was also quite a bit less expensive than other area hotels. The website also warned of a $5/day parking charge.

Arrival / Check-in:
We had some difficulty finding the hotel. The directions indicated it was at "40 North Front Street," which it is. However, the directions don't mention that the hotel is set back from the street, with a large parking lot in between the hotel and the road. So we missed it the first time by.

On our second pass, we realized that we needed to turn down Court Street from Front, and found the entrance of the hotel.

The desk clerk was friendly and efficient, and checked us in without problem. He pointed out that the Main Street Trolley ran directly behind the hotel (along Main Street, of course) and that it cost $1.00 per ride. He told us about the hotel's continental breakfast, served from 7-10 AM each morning.

The clerk gave us a parking pass and reminded us about the $5/day charge. The parking lot is shared with the Springhill Suites hotel next door, and also seemed to be shared with an adjacent office building. The lot was nearly full on Friday afternoon, and parking seems like it could sometimes be a problem. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, we noticed that cars were parked along the curbs and under the hotel entranceway -- basically, every possible space was filled with vehicles.

The Room:
The room looked identical to the rooms we'd stayed in at the Sleep Inn CBD in New Orleans. And when I say identical, I mean identical. The strange curved wall outside the shower stall, the pocket door in the bathroom, the open-style closet with a round cutout above -- all the same as the New Orleans hotel.

In any case, the room was a clean, standard, middle-of-the-road hotel room. Queen-size bed, with a small dresser/desk and 20-inch TV, and two nightstands. The doorless closet had a single luggage shelf, a closet bar, and a shelf above. A chair under the desk and one next to the window finished out the furnishings.

As previously mentioned, the toilet and large shower stall were separated from the rest of the room by a pocket door. The water pressure and temperature was always excellent, and the vanity area was compact, with a single sink.

The room had a somewhat noisy window A/C unit. Our second-floor window looked out onto Main Street and the trolley. Street noise was not a problem.

Once nice feature of this hotel, again shared with the New Orleans location, is the large staircase from the lobby to the second floor. With a room on the second floor, like we had, we were able to avoid the slow elevators on most trips.

Amenities:
The hotel had free wireless access, and I brought my laptop with me. Although it was a nice amenity, service quality was spotty. The wi-fi signal in our room never got above around 33%, and faded in and out. I find that wired Ethernet is generally more reliable in hotels than wi-fi.

The hotel had a small exercise room and a business center, neither of which we used.

The continental breakfast was sparse, nothing more than bagels, muffins, and cold cereals. The breakfast area was clean and well-decorated, and the hotel also had a few patio tables just outside on the Main Street side. The clerk neglected to mention that the breakfast stopped at 9 AM (instead of 10 AM) on weekdays, so we missed breakfast on our last day, Memorial Day. No great loss.

Location, location, location:
The location of this hotel was ideal. Beale Street, Peabody Place and Autozone Park were easy walks, down the brick-paved Main Street. Main is closed to vehicular traffic, reserved for the trolley and for horse-drawn carriages, which are plentiful in Memphis.

The stops for the trolley are less than 50 yards from the door of the hotel. The Main Street entrance to the Sleep Inn is locked 24/7, requiring a room key for entry. Across Main Street, Court Square features shops and restaurants, including the excellent Blue Plate Cafe.

On the front side, the hotel is separated from Front Street by the above-mentioned parking lot. On the other side of Front, it was an easy walk to Confederate Park and the Mud Island River Park.

When driving, it was only two blocks from the hotel to I-40, and easy to get to all the major roads and highways in Memphis.

Summary:
By their very nature, hotels like the Sleep Inn are not fancy -- but we prefer to save our money for restaurants, bars, and attractions on vacation. We basically like a hotel to be a clean, safe, convenient place to sleep -- and the Sleep Inn at Court Square meets these needs, no question!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

Sleep Inn would be an okay pick when talking about basic services, cleanliness and location. There is no doubt about that. However, it is not a good choice in terms of security.

We suffered a theft in our hotel room and received lukewarm treatment from the hotel staff and management from then on. Memphis Police also told us the hotel parking lot is not secure. A number of car break-ins have been reported. This explains the "Park at your own risk" warning on the hotel's parking tags.

Never again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2005

It's a well sited hotel within walking distance of Beale Street. We stayed 3 nights and found the front desk very friendly and helpful and our room was clean, comfortable and had a pleasant view over to the Mississippi. Breakfast was a bit basic but really you get what you pay for and we thought we had value for money. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2004

Enjoyed the location most. Next to trolley, mud island, civil rights museum, etc.....

Breakfeast in the morning saved us a trip to a resturant. Hotel staff was fine and helpful, a pleasure staying at this location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2004

I would recommend this place for several reasons. The most important ones to mention: Excellent location in the vitalized heart of downtown, facing court square park and the nice pedestrian area in front street with its old tram line. Still, easy accessible on-site parking. Nice breakfast. All this included in a very favourable room rate. Finally the best, front-desk staff: I love you, sweetie!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2004

Although our first room had not been cleaned and we were forced to go back to the reception desk, the staff quickly found another room that was larger than the one we had originally booked. The rooms were clean, and considering the price, were nicely appointed. The overall appearance of the hotel was also good throughout, and the staff was quite friendly and willing to give suggestions and directions. One really nice aspect is that the trolley line runs right outside the back door of the lobby.
The rooms w/queen beds are quite small, but the rooms w/king beds are slightly larger. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have to spend a lot of time in your room, but if you spend most of your time away, the rooms should be fine.
Overall we thought that given the price we paid and it's location just a few blocks from Beal St. and Peabody Place, that this hotel is a bargain, and we would certainly have no qualms about staying there again, or recommending it to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Court Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.