We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn at Court Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

On Main Street just a few minutes walk to Beal Street. Nice tidy location. Free breakfast. Rooms have all you need for a city stay. They also have a fridge and microwave. Nice and new. Friendly staff - then that's everywhere in Memphis - even the airport!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your excellent rating! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    154
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
153
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, wonderful suite, prefect location and we had so much fun with help from the staff. They bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect. We will stay here again. Best hot water shower ever. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Everyone here at the hotel appreciated your compliments concerning your stay! Reviews, such as yours really makes their day and re-enforces their commitment to satifying our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We reserved this room because of a mix-up at another hotel. From the moment I called to check my reservation, till we checked out, the service was outstanding. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The ONLY complaint I had was the bathroom door is a sliding pocket door. This didn't allow for much privacy when you were doing your business. We stayed with another couple so maybe that was a personal issue we had to deal with. The huge shower and awesome water pressure were outstanding, though. We had a safe, fridge, and microwave in the room. The noise level was zero and we were never bothered by slamming doors, ect. The blackout drapes allowed us to sleep late becuase we had attended the Justin Timberlake concert and had been out late. The trolley has a stop right at the back of the property. The breakfast was your usual fare but did include sausage and scrambled eggs. The coffee was excellent. The room also had two hairdryers so this was handy for two ladies getting ready at the same time. We did not check out until almost 12 and there was no problem whatsoever with waiting till the last moment to leave. Very pleasant experience and will use this hotel in the future, when we stay in Memphis again. I wish I had gotten the names of those who helped us because they were awesome. From the clerks at the front, the valet, the Maid in the hall that got me several extra shampoo and conditioners from her cart (I have really long hair that was a snarled mess and she already knew what I wanted, lol), and the breakfast attendant, everyone seemed to be proud to working here and were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments regarding your experience with us, while attending the concert! The entire staff lit up with big smiles after reading your review, and are very appreciative for being recognized! They look forward to having you back with us again, the next time you visit Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Overall, I would say this was hotel was very good value for money.

The room was large and had all the facilities you would need - toiletries, safe etc. Breakfast was good.

The location was in walking distance of Beale St, but you can hop on the trolley right outside the hotel if you prefer.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but there was one member of staff that really let the hotel down. I haven't graded the hotel based on this member of staff, as it wouldn't be fair - I do think I need to mention it though, as I have never experienced such rude service in my life.

Unfortunately, I didn't get this member of staffs name, but he was a larger set black guy - probably in his late 30's. He wore baggy trousers and walked at a slow pace and with an attitude. We stayed 5-10 Nov and he was usually on reception about 5pm ish.

There was a few occasions when I thought he was rude - he wouldn't raise his head to say hello when we came in, and just grunted when we said hello or tried to engage him
in any conversation. He seemed annoyed that we were interrupting him from surfing the internet or whatever he was doing - as if we were an inconvenience! I just wrote these experiences off as him having a bad day or something. The main reason I am writing this however is due to the time we came in and needed to collect some laundry from reception - he was stood in the vestibule area near the main doors, so I waved to him as I approached the reception desk. Rather than walk over to the reception desk, he shouted out to me 'Can I help you?!', and it was in quite an aggressive manner. As he was quite far away, I gestured to the reception desk for him to come over - this conversation exchange happened THREE TIMES! Eventually, he walked over to the reception desk and didn't even look at me once. He seemed really annoyed again that I'd interrupted what he was doing. He was extremely aggressive and rude - when he asked for my name, he mumbled so much I thought he had asked for my room number - when I gave my room number, he just shouted at me 'YOUR NAME!!'

I am not a demanding traveller at all, and am quite mild mannered. I don't generally complain, and didn't complain direct to to hotel, as I was honestly so shocked at how awful he was. The other staff were great and made us feel really welcome, but unfortunately, he really let the side down.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. All of your observations are appreciated and have been shared with all of the hotel staff so that they can continue doing the positive things, and improve on the areas you were dissapointed in. My apologies for the interaction you had with the evening desk clerk, this has been addressed with him to improve how he is actions are percieved by guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep Inn, the next time you visit Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked this hotel due to reasonable price and promised easy to get to Beale St. The room we stayed in was very small, with the sink in the sleeping room and a pocket door to the shower/toilet room. But everything was very clean and nicely updated throughout. They thought of nice little touches, like a small flashlight in the bedside table. The trolley does stop right in front, which is good because it is a bit of a walk to get to Beale otherwise. Breakfast was adequate and well maintained, but the food wasn't hot. Our room overlooked the park/trolley line. It was a lovely view, but could tend to be noisy. I kept our wall heating/air unit on constant fan and that seemed to solve the noise issue. Would definitely stay here again, but probably pay a bit more for a larger, king room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I appreciate your comments and observations regarding your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the staff so that they can correct some of the issues that you mentioned. Our breakfast attendant strives to keep the breakfast area neat, clean, stocked, and the food hot. We hope you enjoyed your time in Memphis and look forward to having you stay with us, again, the next time your travels bring you this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As a producer I am always searching for a great hotel to set up our mobile office and keep an entire crew well-rested and happy. The Sleep Inn did an amazing job for our crew! The internet is great and free, loved the free breakfast, two great meting nooks, and 24/7 coffee (like currency to us!) The King Suite was a great spot to have meetings in as well as store gear and was very spacious. There's mini fridges to keep drinks cold which is great. We especially loved that each desk offers 4 plug-ins that work that are right there (I hate hotels that make you search for plug-ins behind the bed etc.).

We were located central near everything. The walk to Beale Street was about 8 minutes (we're fast New Yorkers, so you could budget 15 minutes if you are slower) and driving was pretty easy. It's far from the road so I had a little difficulty finding it at first but once I was settled it was no problem. Parking is $12 a day so budget that into your expenses before you go.

There's also lots of great suggestions for getting better sleep around the hotel- very charming!

All in all - for my crazy film crew, or your crazy family- the Sleep Inn is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are much quieter than the ones facing the park (where you have the trol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review on your stay at our hotel, as well as your visit to Memphis! Your comments are appreciated by the staff, who look forward to seeing the documentary when it comes out. We were happy to see that everything met your needs and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep Inn, should your travels bring you to Memphis in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. We had a nice view of the park as well. Nothing to complain about here.

It was only a short 10 min walk to Beale Street where all the cool restaurants and bars are.

We really enjoyed our time here. No complaints from us and would stay again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Your comments and review are appreciated! They have been shared with the rest of the staff who love to hear how they are doing, and how they can improve our guest's experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep inn the next time you visit Memphis and the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Court Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.