We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, friendly and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn at Court Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 135 hotels in Memphis
Smyrna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Safe, friendly and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here 2 nights while in town for a tennis tournament. We were greeted by a friendly, efficient woman at check in . When I asked where the crowd was headed down Front Street, she and her male coworker told me about the Steely Dan concert that night. We talked about the music and they were nice to suggest places where we could walk or take a trolley to eat dinner nearby. The room was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The morning staff were equally welcoming and accommodating. Parking was right out front so we did not have to deal with a parking garage. We felt very safe downtown as the police presence was visible at frequent intervals along the main streets of downtown. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    141
    42
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
143
21
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights June '13, what a great find. Located very close to Beale Street (10 min walk) this hotel was priced right for the location. Very friendly staff, good breakfast area, although we did eat out the front on the table and chairs out the front as the weather was perfect. We faced the trolley line but the noise was not offending in any way. Room was small but very clean, a separate sink from the shower and toilet was handy while one was showering the other was cleaning teeth etc. Plenty of good eating places close by if you don't want to venture to Beale street, and it was a quick walk to the river for the cruises. Would love to go back one day, Memphis was my most favourite part of America.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Roooms were very comfortable, staff was helpful, breakfast was great. The location is perfect to see in town sights. Would recommend for a couple but small rooms for a family. From here we were able to catch trolley or walk to a Beale street. There are many good restaurants in the area so we rarely used the car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on different days during Labor Weekend. Both experiences were good. Friendly staff and convenient location (I prefered not to be too close to Beale St. because of noise and drunk people around). In fact, the hotel is between a park and a calm parking lot.
The "fitness center" is a joke indeed with just a treadmill and a bike. If you want to run o make same miles, get out to Main St. or even better, take the way to Mud Island and enjoy the beautiful Riverwalk.
Convenient breakfast though items may be missed soon or they spend much time to refill. At 9am I had trouble to have orange juice or eggs; they need some extra help here to keep clean the place and refill items.
Rooms are comfortable and with many amenities that will help you to relax which is what is all this about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a nice hotel. We only had one night in Memphis and wanted to be downtown so we could go to Beale street. The price was good. The hotel was nice, room clean, decent bathroom. I was a little worried about noise because we had a ground floor room on the parking lot side, but it was quiet and we slept well. We really liked that you could walk out the back door of the hotel and jump on the Main Street Trolley, very convenient. Breakfast was typical, but adequate. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The customer service at this hotel was very good, I spoke with Shannon over the phone prior to my arrival and she made me feel as if the staff would be at the doors awaiting my arrival. Shannon is a gem with her warm Southern personality. The hotel is about 5 blocks or so from Beale street, easy walking for me. The hotel sits between two other hotels but after the survey from our party we all agree that we picked the better one (mostly b/c of the free hot breakfast). The hotel does not have a bar, but we figured out if you want a drink just walk to the hotel next door to purchase a drink (the walk is less than a minute). The rooms are pretty standard, but I appreciate having hot water when I take a shower (unlike the hotels in NYC). It was nice having a cooling frig and a microwave in the room. The bed was super comfortable! Once again if good customer service is what you are looking for this is the place (I did notice that the day employees were super nice and friendly, the overnight shift still have a bit of work to do to get on the same level as the day staff). What it lacks in amenities they make up for it in politeness (even the housekeeping crew were nice). Be sure to visit Gus chicken second best I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is fairly conveniently located downtown. It's nearer to the northernmost end of Main St (i.e., closer to the courthouses) and there are certainly other hotels that are closer to Beale St and some of the downtown attractions, but really the difference is a matter of only 5 or 6 blocks. The room was fairly small and I'm convinced the bed was a double, not a queen. Breakfast was ok. The gym is pathetic -- there is one treadmill and one bicycle. Parking was easy and relatively cheap at $12/day, come and go as many times as you like. The reception staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Court Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.