We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a step above typical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn at Court Square to your Saves list
Sleep Inn at Court Square
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Fayetteville, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a step above typical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

i was in memphis on business and stayed at the sleep inn court square...what great staff and the rooms were awesome!!! flat screen televisions, lots of work space, great beds and linens. the breakfast was also exceptional. felt welcome and special from the first minute i walked in. definitely not what is expected from an economy priced hotel. it is also on the trolly line and just a short walk to downtown, beale street and tons of places to eat.

Room Tip: rooms on the west or parking lot side are quiter due to the trollys running down main street until 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    183
    53
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
191
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The staff were excellent apart from the weekend woman who looked after the breakfasts. She was not at all friendly, and in some instances that I witnessed, she was downright rude. This was weekend of 8th and 9th Sept 2012. The lady who was on breakfast duty on the Monday 10th was 100% different kind of person altogether. She was lovely and actually seemed pleased to see us.

Room was very clean apart from the edges of the carpets - could do with a stiff brush, but apart from that very clean. Lovely big room. We were in a king size room. And it was lovely and roomy.

The trolley stop was right outside the hotel. $1 each way or all day for $3.50. People in Memphis were very friendly and laid back.

Would advise a visit to the Civil Rights Museum - this is a must!!! Very moving video at the start.

Obviously you should visit Graceland. What a lovely house and gardens. The memorial garden is peaceful and serene. Great value.

Wasn't keen on Bealle Street. Felt it was a bit seedy. Ate at restaurants and bars on Main Street.

Room Tip: Room looking onto the Courtyard is better and also a room at the end of the corridor is better becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice hotel at a great central location. The trolley runs just behind the hotel which is very convenient and quite interesting. Hotel manager was out and about, talking to the guests every day, which I think is outstanding. There was a large group of high schoolers there while we were there and other than clogging the elevators a little this large group was no bother at all. We certainly never heard them. Only complaint I have is with the waffle mix at the breakfast buffet. I'm not sure what it was but it wasn't waffles. Not bad, just not waffles, although it cooked into the same shape.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Court Square if you can, it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Loved the location just off Front Street in downtown Memphis. Rooms were spotlessly clean, earned an A+++ there. Breakfast was really good as well. Rates were very good and you'll be pleased. The hotel was located just across from Confederate Park which has a fantastic scenic overview of the Mississippi River and the bridges. The downtown trolley ran outside the lobby door, very convenient.

Room Tip: Get one facing the river -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Let me start by saying that all of this Hotel is not bad. The worst part was checking in. I walked in and the clerk, (Michael) I think his name was, was standing at the desk and never looked up or acknowledged that I was standing at the front desk. After about two or three minutes, in a rude manner, said "license and credit card". I don't even know he was talking to me because he never looked up. Then he said it again. I asked if he was speaking to me. He gave me a dirty look and said it again. He then took them and said my room was not ready and to come back in 40 mins. When I returned he did the exact same thing. After giving him my credit card and license, he THREW the plastic cards in front of me on the desk and gave me the breakfast hours. He was not nice at all. The only other problems was, the loud rapp music in the lobby and all of the people just hanging around the hotel. It looked like a bunch of homeless alcoholics. The rooms were very nice and the rest of the staff was excellent along with the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the trolley side of the building, lots of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, Wales
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a suite and it was well-appointed. The view over the Mississippi was very pleasant. Hotel was just by a trolley stop and also in a good place for walking. Breakfast was the usual fare but the eggs were cooked beautifully. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The taxi company they ordered for us was great, a most entertaining driver! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a pleasant, comfortable, pretty standard Sleep Inn with the perfect location in downtown Memphis. It's a short walk to great restaurants, Beale Street and other attractions, but it's just far enough away from them to be quiet. Both sides look out on trees; in the back, you're right beside the Main Street tourist trolley and a nice little park. My room faced that way and there was mild trolley noise but nothing that would keep you awake. My room was fairly small and compact, which I like, and had everything. Rate was good for downtown Memphis - mine (AAA I think) was $111. They do charge for parking.

Very nice people working there, but things were a bit discombobulated - my first room key didn't work, which seemed to surprise nobody; also I think there was one luggage cart for the entire hotel, and the attitude was kind of "well, eventually it will show up in the lobby again." Didn't bother me, but might bother some people.

Room Tip: Front of hotel might be a bit quieter but back has a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#15 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn at Court Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.