We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 North 2nd Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly.
We used the shuttle bus to get into Beale street as the walk was too far. The driver was friendly and would always pick us up and return us to hotel.
Graceland and sun studios are worth a visit, the trips can be booked through reception.
Try to watch the ducks parade at Peabody hotel if you have the time.
Comfortable hotel not in walking distance of attractions though.
I would stay again if in the area.
Amazing peanut butter cookies.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for posted your review. We love hearing that our guest has great service doing their stay. We hope you will choose us the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    219
    177
    66
    51
See reviews for
136
234
29
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in June for my dads 60th birthday treat and the hotel was ok but quite basic to what I'm used too. Luckily it was clean we did have one day where they had run out of clean towels and was struggling to get hold of them but sorted after chasing three times and then was inundated with towels. The service was good and enjoyed the managers reception in the bar on the Wednesday night but found it odd that no manager was present. The pool was nice but the sun beds were broken and too few of them to go around. The best thing about this place was the shuttle service that would take you and pick you up from downtown. Would prefer to have stayed closer to Beale street but the shuttle did make up for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoy the shuttle to Beale Street. I am sorry for the inconvenience about running out of towels during your stay. The comments we receive will help us to target the problem area and will help us improve our next guest visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was clean which was most important but it was very obvious that it is an old hotel. The bed was way more comfortable than most which was awesome. My only complaint about the room was that there was no refrigerator or microwave. That's just unacceptable and unless they change that I will not stay again. It should be a given at a Crowne Plaza. The bar and bar tender were great. I had a few before heading out to dinner and I found the prices reasonable and the drinks good. The staff was fantastic all around.

Room Tip: I was told they were renovating rooms on the upper floor. Once they are done I would recommend tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for review our property. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the hotel during your stay. We will let the management team know about the comments on the extra amenities you will like us to provide in the rooms. We hope you will give us a second chance to make you stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My sister and I planned a weekend getaway for our mom's birthday, we live in Chicago. We decided a quick drive to Memphis would be sufficient. We made reservations for the Crowne Plaza on 2nd Street, downtown Memphis. Upon our arrival it was plush, southern hospitality. Tameka at the front desk, the girl rocks. She had a lobby full of patrons all wanting rooms and she was a cool breeze, absolutely professional and positive. Our room attendant was super polite but she would speak with such happiness and joy. I hate that I can't remember her name but it starts with a J. Shout out to you Miss J. Also, let me not forget to mention that they have awesome concierge and valet services. I would recommend this hotel over and over. True Southern Hospitality. Thank you Crowne for making our stay wonderful in Memphis.

Ms. Natalia Wright

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciated your great comments. We are glad that our team members give you understanding southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

No one knows the right with fi password, there was no menu in the room and when I asked for one I was told to see the menu in the bar. That's funny, because I had just left there and they no longer carried a significant portion of the items on that menu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the review. Please accept sincere apologies that our staff was not properly trained doing your stay with us. The service was unacceptable that you receive. We will take the time out to retrain our staff. We will make the necessary changes so this will not happen in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The service is good. The workers are friendly. The hotel is in need of major renovations. At night in bed, the mildew smell was nasty. The air conditioner system is a thermostat on the wall and a window floor unit. We were either cold or hot. The carpet look thread-bare.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We love to hear about good service the staff provide you doing your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for smell and the conditioner in your room. We will share the comments with our engineering department and management team. We hope you will stay with us in the future to show you that we can make your stay outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Il
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel while attending a conference. Front desk was very very friendly. hotel provided courtesy shuttle to Beale St. The drive was very friendly and helpful. He suggested several of his favorite places to eat. Hotel provided complementary water, coffee, lemonade and cookies throughout the day. had a restaurant on-site but I didn't end up eating there. Close to main street and the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments on our staff great service. We hope your company will choose us for their next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis

Address: 300 North 2nd Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Memphis Meeting Hotel is the Perfect Place for Your Next Corporate ConventionThe Crowne Plaza Memphis hotel offers affordable hotel accommodations in the heart of Memphis, TN. Our downtown Memphis hotel is just 12 miles from Memphis International Airport (MEM) and minutes from the Cook Convention Center, making us the perfect Memphis meeting and convention hotel for business travelers and corporate conventions.Our convenient downtown Memphis hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Memphis trolley system which provides easy access to the convention center and business district as well as the local tourist attractions that help make Memphis a great vacation destination.Looking for something fun to do in Memphis? Music enthusiasts will be pleased to know that the world-famous Beale Street Entertainment District is within walking distance of our downtown Memphis vacation hotel and Elvis Presley s Graceland is just 8 miles away. Sports fans can catch a game at AutoZone Park, home of the Memphis Redbirds, or the FedEx Forum, home of the NBA's Memphis Grizzlies.The Crowne Plaza Memphis hotel offers luxury accommodations and amenities to compliment its great downtown Memphis location. From quiet zone floors to Sleep Advantage packages, we provide everything you need to rest well while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.