We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   962 South Shady Grove Road, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #13 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampton, KY, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very nice hotel in a beautiful part of Memphis. Breakfast was well above average. The landscaping was exceptionally well done and the Dogwoods, Azelias, and Redbud were in full bloom. Located near a large shopping mall and many excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    92
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
107
61
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed the convenience and comfort of this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodated our needs when we requested something. The location was great for the places we wanted to visit...the Memphis Zoo, Graceland, Sun City, Downtown, Beale Street, Highland Heights area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

An older Hampton that we stayed in years ago but has been maintained and in great condition. Located in a suburban area with business around it, there was no problem in getting a room away from traffic which we did.
Check in was pleasant and the staff person was accommodating, giving us general directions to restaurants and a nice easy way to get out of the city on our way to Huntsville, AL the next day.
Like the majority of Hamptons, this one had clean rooms, comfortable beds, shower, bath facilities and "did you forget" items. An enjoyable night's sleep after our supper in a nearby restaurant.
Breakfast was the usual menu for Hamptons - nice, easy, quick with just about anything you'd need to get you going that day. We enjoyed it and had a small conversation with a traveling couple from Ontario.
There is little to complain about with a stay at a Hampton Inn so there is nothing else to write about. No problems with the stay, the rate was reasonable, the location seemed to be in a better area and was quiet. that all adds up to a recommendation that you won't be sorry you chose this location.

Room Tip: Choose on in the rear if you want a real quiet night's sleep, and choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I don't get the reviews on this hotel. It makes me worry about trip advisor ratings, this is why I am an avid reviewer so that others can get a good idea of what these hotels are like. It seems Hampton Inns can go either was these days. This hotel had a very nice lobby but the room was awful. The carpet was dated and dirty, the bed like a rock and there was a definite smell to the room like a bad deodorizer. This reservation was made at the last minute and the hotel seemed full but still, it was not worth even half what we paid. The air conditioner was loud. The only good part was the breakfast and the location was great with many restaurants nearby. We where happy to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have stayed in several Hampton Inn's and this has been my favorite to date. The entire hotel is very clean! Excellent breakfast setup. The shower pressure could be stronger but I love a shower that hurts :-)

Quick and easy access to the freeways and Poplar Avenue for a more direct drive downtown.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Many times, the staff is the difference in the quality of your stay no matter what the quality of the hotel is. Fortunately, not only was this a nice hotel to stay at, but the staff was very open and warm. Everyone I happened to speak to, and every staff member I passed greeted me, was very nice. It made me feel really good about my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had problems with the heating system in the bedroom but maintenance was quick to address the problem. Staff was very nice and professional. Room was very clean and complimentary breakfast was great and had a variety of everything. Hotel was close to restaurants and interstate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Address: 962 South Shady Grove Road, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Memphis
#15 Business Hotel in Memphis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.