We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Accommodating Stay I've EVER Had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Perkins Rd. South, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hampton Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Most Accommodating Stay I've EVER Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

First, let me point out I am a seasoned traveler throughout the United States and Europe. I have led student groups, traveled with family and friends, and traveled on business. I have stayed at hotels ranging from barely adequate to luxurious. With that being said, I can in all honesty write that the people who work at this Hampton Inn are by far the most accommodating, gracious, and sensitive to a traveler's needs of any hotel I have ever stayed. Shawn, the general manager, went out of his way to correct a booking error made by the agency that originally booked one of the rooms for us. The housekeeping staff keep the rooms immaculate. The head of housekeeping even went out and bought a new crib for my 1-year-old grandson because the one they had was in poor condition--and we did not ask her to do this! The entire staff, from the reception desk to housekeeping to maintanence, were personable, always greeting us with a smile and "have a nice day." One of the maintanence men even gave my grandson a package of Ritz bits. The breakfast goes from 6am to 10am, allowing time for those who like to sleep in to still eat. There is a good variety: bagels, bread, croissants, and muffins (type changes each day); an egg selection (this also changes each day; we had scrambled eggs with cheese and ham pieces the first day and a western omelet the next); bacon one day and sausage patties the next; a variety of different flavored yogurts and juices; waffles; mixes for oatmeal and hot chocolate, and coffee. And all this is included in the price of the room. While the location is about 10 minutes from downtown Memphis, it is easily accesible to it and other areas surrounding Memphis as the hotel is next to I240. Rooms must be sound proof because I didn't hear any traffic. There are a number of fast food restaurants within walking distance: Taco Bell, I Hop, Arby's, and Popeye's. The hotel is in a commercial area that has seen better days, but I felt safe and the hotel parking and grounds are well kept and secure. Other bonuses include free USA Today weekdays and free wifi. I booked one room about a month ago and got a great deal on hotels.com. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
37
26
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin-TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel is right off the interstate, and next to many restaurants and places to eat. For a category 2 hotel it's a pretty good deal since it's just as good as any category 3 Hampton Inn I have stayed at. Everything is very comparable: free parking, free internet, free breakfast. However my room did not have a microW or fridge and they told me they only have 5 rooms in the entire place with a microW and fridge, so if you are staying for a while or with family/kids etc it might not be the best option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We went to Memphis to see the usual sites - Zoo, Graceland, Peabody Hotel. We wanted a central location without the inflated price. If you are renting a car, this is the perfect place for you! The hotel is 2 exits away (5 minutes) from the airport. The hotel sits right on the highway making it very easy to get where you are going quickly and has plenty of free parking. We could make it to any of our destinations within 10 minutes. Plus, the hotel offers a free breakfast, free internet, and a really nice lounge. There is also an IHOP right across the street! The staff was SO friendly - even offering to print out directions to a restaurant for me. I will definitely stay here again if I am in Memphis.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My family and I checked in on Friday Jan 19, 2010. The Front Desk associate was very friendly & warm, she made us feel welcome. every staff member that I encountered was very accomodatining, from Night Desk associate, to the housekeeper to the nice friendly ladies at breakfast.. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I am a Hilton HHonors Gold VIP and Delta Million miler who frequently visits Hampton Inns, Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inns Hotels. This hotel is a typical Hampton Inn, but what sets it apart is the excellent attitude of its staff. Without exception, from the maid service to the senior manager, this hotel is staffed by a genuinely friendly group of people. Although most of my travel to Hampton Inns is business related, I coach a 9 year old baseball team that participated in the 2009 Dizzy Dean World Series in Southaven, Mississippi's (Memphis SMSA) Snowden Grove Baseball Park, which is located about 20 minutes away from this hotel. Our group reserved about 15 rooms, occupied by family members whose ages ranged from ages 1 to 70. We chose this hotel because it was the closest one available. We were unable to reserve rooms closer to Southaven due to heavy bookings of hotels by well over 100 teams participating in Dizzy Dean World Series events in several age groups. Prior to booking the hotel, we checked tripadvisor website and read the mixed reviews including one particularly negative review from another baseball team that had visited this hotel. After booking our reservation, our plan was to stay for a couple of nights until other teams were eliminated from the baseball tournament, and relocate to a more favorable hotel. Immediately upon our arrival and after a couple of nights, we found all negative reviews of this hotel and its neighborhood to be baseless. The hotel was fine, and we never felt insecure in this neighborhood. In fact, one person in our party ran out of gas in the neighborhood on Perkins Avenue about 1 mile south of the hotel. A fine family who was gathered in their front yard immediately came to his assistance and a gentleman took the individual in our party to purchase gas. The man who helped us refused to be compensated for his trouble. Our group chose to stay at the hotel for the entire week-long world series event. Our team, which was well-rested and fed, won the world series in a clean sweep, beating most of our opponents by more than 10 runs. The staff at the hotel seemed genuniely happy for our success, taking team photos and giving the boys "high fives" as they streamed into the hotel after our victory. We were permitted to check out late on our final afternoon with no extra charge. Brandon, the evening manager was "spot on" throughout the week with his recommendations for local eateries. Our favorites were Huey's and the Belmont Grill, both casual restaurants nearby.

When we return to Memphis to play baseball, we will definitely visit our friends at this hotel, and when my business travels require an overnight stay near the Memphis airport, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in birmingham and was impressed by the hotel and it fit our budget. Upon arriving we were greeted by a hotel clerk that remarked he had not watched the weather report when I asked him if he have any knowledge of how long it would rain. The room smelled of smoke and when I saw the ckerk at the vending machine I told him so. he changed our room and it was much better after that. the other clerks were knowledgeable, gave trip & tour advice and provided us with mapblast sheets(beale street 10-15 minutes away)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

The hotel is right off the Interstate, but not in the best location. Homeless guys live under the bridge at the Interstate and the area is known for high crime (found out after the fact). Parking lot lacks adequate lighting for the area it is in. The staff was completely unconcerned about the air conditioning not working in the lobby/breakfast area which sweltered at times with the crowd. Hot breakfast consisted of one tex-mex egg dish and the usual continental bagels, etc. SLOW wireless. Sleeper sofa was very short and uncomfortable. Mattress was also uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel

Address: 2700 Perkins Rd. South, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from historic downtown Beale Street, or the home of Elvis Presley, the National Civil Rights Museum, shopping, bar b que, and the Memphis International Airport sits the Hampton Inn off I-240 at Perkins Rd. Where southern hospitality await your family reunion, your business needs, a sporting team, out of town friends and family or even a stay-cation, we love having you here! Hampton Inn I-240 offers 130 rooms with king sized accommodations or rooms with 2 double beds. Where each morning our friendly breakfast staff have prepared a fresh hot breakfast to help kick start your day. We look forward to your upcoming visit, and hope to see you the next time you are back in Memphis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-i-240 At Thousand Oaks Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis-i-240 At 1000 Oaks
Memphis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis-I-240 at Thousand Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.