We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and fun zoo, great for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Zoo

Memphis Zoo
2000 Prentiss Place, Memphis, TN 38112
901-276-WILD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Attractions in Memphis
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YaYa, a female Giant Panda that calls the Memphis Zoo home, enjoys a sunny day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New City, NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Charming and fun zoo, great for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had such a good time here! The zoo is a small one, but very user-friendly. The grounds are well kept, the educational signs were informative, brief, and interesting. The pandas were very cute, the monkeys were adorable, and there is a nice play area for children. In addition to the usual fast food type snack area, there is a cafe that serves healthy choices of salads and sandwiches, with locally sourced produce, as well as pizza and other choices for kids. Very very nice overall!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    288
    48
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We can't say enough about this incredible zoo - and we've visited our share. It is artfully layed out along a multi-cultural theme. The entrance, with its colorful, hieroglyphic-laden walls give way inside to a dominating obelisk, porticos and a winding stream that seems to echo the meandering River Nile. In the area where the pandas munch contentedly on bamboo, the structures, in vibrant primary colors, evoke thoughts of ancient China. There's the Teton Trek with its Native American influence, (Don't miss the moving tribute to Chief Seattle!) and the animals of the African Veldt, and ... but we don't give everything away. Plan a trip to Memphis and see for yourself. BTW, we're told Tennesseans enter free on the first Tuesday of the month. Also, be aware there is a modest fee for parking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Habitats, Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip to the Memphis Zoo. Love this zoo because all if the animals and habitats look well kept as well as the grounds. Polar bear and sea otter exhibits phenomenal. Memories for a lifetime!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Didn't want to go and Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice zoo. You can see the animals. Te giraffes were wonderful and we happened to be there during guest feeding. Being that I adore giraffes, I was thrilled. Pandas were adorable. One was sound asleep against the glass and the other was chomping away on bamboo. Very nice place. Recommend highly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo but no food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved the zoo but do not start walking around expecting to find places to buy food or drinks. It was my husband and I plus our two kids (6 & 2). We were at the zoo from 11:45-5:30

First, the highlights:
We really did enjoy the zoo.
Feeding and petting the stingrays was phenomenal! They are very friendly and seemed to love the attention. Be prepared to get wet. Sometimes they like to splash.
Feeding the giraffes was also fun. We've feed giraffes at the San Diego zoo and actually enjoyed this more.
Feeding the birds. We ended up spending so much time in here. It was so fun having the birds land on the stick your holding and eating off the seeds.

Other highlights:
Watching a huge grizzly bear back in to the water and go for a little swim.
Seeing a pheasant that we thought could have been a roadrunner it was running so fast.
Seeing a tiny armadillo run around its enclosure.
Watching a huge panda eat bamboo right in front of us.

Now onto the bad parts:
They have several soda/water machines throughout the park HOWEVER none of them worked. We tried 6 different machines. Every single concession stand was closed as we walked through. We finally found a trailer that had just closed and asked if we could just buy a soda and Gatorade. She let us but could only take cash because the computers were down. We asked if she had any food she could sell us and she said she was completely out of food.

Side notes:
As stated above, make sure you bring your own food and drinks.
Bring a suit and towel for the kids. They have a couple places that kids can play in the water. And they get very wet.

We really did enjoy the zoo. Not being able to find anything to eat or drink was a huge distraction from the fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memphis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.