We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Zoo in the South!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Zoo

Memphis Zoo
2000 Prentiss Place, Memphis, TN 38112 (Midtown)
901-276-WILD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 attractions in Memphis
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: YaYa, a female Giant Panda that calls the Memphis Zoo home, enjoys a sunny day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
El Dorado, AR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Zoo in the South!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well laid out and easy to navigate. Love this zoo! The staff is helpful and friendly, the animals are well taken care of.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    238
    36
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a lot of fun, clean, and well organized. The animals were visable and the signs told you where to go and where you were. If you love Pannda's this is the zoo for you!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Giant pandas are a must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We visited this zoo mainly to see the Polar bear exhibit and the giant pandas YaYa and LeLe. The Polar bear Hailey was moved to a different exhibit to allow her some quiet time. The zookeepers were suspecting that she was pregnant. She hid in her cave the whole time we were there so we did not get to see her. The male panda LeLe was out in the open, eating bamboo. It was fascinating to watch him eat his bamboo and not have a care in the world. YaYa was in her dayroom eating bamboo as well. Apparently, this is all they do all day.

The zoo is very well laid out, and although it was pretty dead on a school day, there was enough to explore and see. My 10 year old enjoyed the different themes as well. The China exhibit where the pandas were was impressive and so was the Egyptian decor that greets you when you enter the zoo. We were very pleased with our visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WOW!! Takes 2 days to see it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Loved the Zoo! Really great one, and we enjoyed it all. Prepare to walk, a lot! Food throughout the zoo is interesting and good, so you can find yummy things everywhere. In season, there are camel rides!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Area
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice, small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best parts: The Komodo Dragons. Downsides: many of the animals have too small an area. The zoo is working to correct this, and we have seen much worse zoos. The zoo also seems to be going to a lot of effort to provide "enrichment" for the residents - something we appreciate, as one of our party is a NYC zoo volunteer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Memphis Zoo to your Saves list