We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Night stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Humphreys Center Drive, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save 15%
Ranked #35 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Awesome Night stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nice!! Rarely I thank hotels for the feeling of "being home"...but "Thank You" I really felt welcome here! A lot of employees at other hotels are trained to say certain phrases, but these folks say it like they "Really Do" appreciate you being there. If I opened a Hotel..I would model this hotel and call it "Welcome Home Inn" The only negative is the let employees from the surrounding businesses (All healthcare Businesses) park in their lot, so guest parking is VERY limited. I mentioned this to front desk, but the response was "We are trying to control this" (Note: Employee's of the hospital parking lot was nearly empty [which they are charged a fee to park and work at the hospital] while the hotel parking had 2 spaces left at 8am. (I witnessed at least 23 nurses park and walk away from hotel.) ON THE OTHER HAND.... I passed 4 different children in wheel chairs in the elevator of hotel heading towards hospital....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I was so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We do try to make every effort to provide that "home away from home" service. I am aware of the parking situation and have made strides with the nurses in area buildings to stop parking in our guest parking. You mentioned the children in wheelchairs on the elevators; we do a great deal of business with the hospital as you know we sit right in the middle of Baptist Hospital's campus. We try to make everyone’s stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your comments and for choosing Hampton Inn Walnut Grove Memphis! We look forward to your next visit to Memphis as it is our pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
48
27
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service from very professional and friendly staff. The staff will even call me when fresh cookies are ready in the evening! The rooms are very quiet and clean. Wish each room had microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
.I am so happy you were satisfied with our hotel. We do pride ourselves in making sure all your needs are met. We are working to increase the number of refrigerators and microwaves throughout the hotel. I look forward to your next trip to Memphis. Let me know if I can help with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we have a king suite and as we walked in my hubby kissed me, saying thank you for picking this room..it was a home away from home, making us feel we were on a 2nd honeymoon..the staff welcomed you with a smile, asking us all the time, are we enjoying ourselves if we needed anything..Room was icing on the cake for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will pass them along to my staff. We try to make every effort to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. I am pleased we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels to you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Quality room, slept very well, exceptional service, great location and friendly staff. Loved the extra outlets by the bedside with the USB plugs built in. Very business friendly. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am always thrilled to hear such great feedback from my guests. I will certainly pass it on to my staff. I look forward to your next visit to Memphis. If you need any assistance with your travel plans please don't hesitate to call on me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a clean, neat hotel that's near the hospital. We were on a long road trip and stopped here for an overnight stay. The hotel is clean, and everyone at the front desk is polite. The main problem I had with the hotel is that the bed tilted. It seemed to be higher on one side than the other, and nothing I did could fix that. The breakfast was good, and had several options.
I think with a little remodeling--fresh paint, new beds--this would easily have been four or five stars for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your stay here in Memphis. I am so sorry about that bed. I am going to hunt all over this hotel until I find which bed it was unless you would like to give me a call and tell me which room you stayed in. I could sure find it and fix it a lot quicker so no other guest has the same problem. I want everyone to have a good nights sleep here at the Hampton Inn Walnut Grove Memphis. I hope you will give us another try again soon. I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks again and safe travels to you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was scheduled for surgery so after the first ight my husband stayed at the hotel while I was in the hospital. They provided a shudle. He ate a good breakfast. Hampton Inn was exactly what we needed when and where we needed. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will certainly pass them along to my staff. I hope all is well now. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis. Let me know if I can assist you in any way. Again, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband had to be at the hospital, without food, at 5:30 in the morning! I was able to drop him off at the hospital and get him settled and be back in time for my own breakfast and a nap before returning to his side!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a micro/frig when staying for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I will certainly use them as a tool to better train my staff and address the noise issues you encountered as well as the dust behind the door. I hope you will give us another chance to show you we listen. Safe travels and again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Address: 33 Humphreys Center Drive, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East hotel is next to the Memphis business district & has free hot breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. Take the complimentary shuttle service to The Baptist Memorial Hospital or discover great shopping at one of the nearby malls. Explore Shelby Farms or visit Beale Street, Graceland, and Sun Studios just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.