We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok - not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Humphreys Center Drive, Memphis, TN 38120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save 15%
Ranked #36 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was ok - not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was booked at the last minute, so I did not expect anything great. I booked two rooms, and both were very clean. The beds were not very comfortable, and one of our rooms requested a roll away cot. The staff was extremely rude when they brought the cot up. They knocked on the door and left the cot sitting outside without even waiting to see if we answered the door. The first night, we discovered that one of the showers did not drain at all and that one of the air conditioners did not work. We did not complain since it is winter. The continental breakfast was wonderful - there was a great selection. The hotel is in a great location if you are not interested in downtown Memphis, although it isn't a far drive to downtown. Overall, the hotel is outdated, but a decent purchase for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I wanted to thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn Walnut Grove Memphis. It is so important to hear from my guests to address the positive and the negative experiences you have at my hotel. I assure you I have addressed your concerns with my staff and they as I am are committed to making sure your stay is a pleasant one and all your needs are met. Again, thank you for your comments. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
48
27
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was in Memphis on business with the hospital so they recommended I stay at the Hampton Inn because it is just across the parking lot from Baptist East. Based on my experience, I will stay ANYWHERE else in Memphis and drive ANY distance to avoid staying here again.
To begin with, the hotel is old and dirty. Rooms are dark and stale smelling. When I woke up the next morning after a restless sleep on the uncomfortable bed, I found a quarter and a dime in the bed along with a pair of dirty socks (none of these items were mine).
The service level was even worse. I called the front desk several times during the stay and only once did anyone answer. I almost missed my flight the next morning because the front desk mishandled calling a taxi to the airport.
I could go on, but this should be enough info to STAY AWAY from this terrible hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am so sorry your stay with us was an unpleasant one. This kind of service is unacceptable to me as well. I would like to ask you to please give me a call at the hotel so I can discuss this further with you. This is not how we do business and I’d like to make it right for you. I look forward to hearing from you and again please accept my personal apology as we failed to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Clean property with great management. I booked two rooms. Second room had noise originating from bathroom ceiling. I spoke to management about it and she "took care of it", no questions asked. I will stay here again next time I'm in Memphis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn Walnut Grove - Baptist East! It is our goal that every guest leave with 100% Satisfaction and if not we are dedicated to making it right! Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to seeing you again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I am very particular about room and bed cleanliness and this hotel was clean.

The continental breakfast had a lot of options, including hot food variety. Was very good.

A couple of guests, including us, had room keys that didn't work the first time, but it got fixed.

Staff was very nice.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I want to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. It is our pleasure serving you and your family. We take pride in our hotel and want to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests to make sure we are doing it right! Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit to Memphis! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here on business while visiting the West Clinic. The hotel is located adjacent to Baptist hospital and just down the street from my destination. Checkin was fast and very friendly. The bed was very comfortable- they linens and pillows were soft yet offered alot of support. Breakfast is provided- they serve some hot items and the usual continental. I would definitely stay here again any time I needed to travel to this area in Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Hampton Inn Walnut Grove. We certainly want to make sure all our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Safe travels to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Got in late last night, clerk was very accomodating, rooms & lobby were nice & clean. Beds comfy, lots of pillows.
Reasonable rates.Got coupon in hoteldiscount mag picked up outside McDonalds. Breakfast was typical free one-eggs, bacon, make ur own waffle. Would reccomend to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate you business. We hope to be of service to you again soon. Safe travels and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creede, Colorado
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at this property over 250 times. Over the years the property had become run down and I stopped staying there. I returned because the property was remodeled. The property is much improved unfortunately, the staff has actually gotten worse.

Even though I am a Hilton Diamond Member there is not recognition here! They don’t greet you by name, they don’t have expedited check-in, they will not honor any room requests, there are no snacks for the room, no cookies at the front desk, no paper in the morning at the door, the bill was wrong and the general manager is hostile. When asked about Hilton Honors benefits, the manager said “well you get points right”, isn’t that enough? If you want a room on a lower floor she said that you had to be here first thing in the morning, because Hilton Honors doesn’t get priority.

This is a budget hotel at its worse…..

Room Tip: Forget-about-it...room requests are NOT honored!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I am so sorry we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. I appreciate your comments and will certainly use them as a training tool for my staff. I appreciate you as a Hilton Honors Member and want to make sure you get all the benefits. I hope you come back again soon. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Address: 33 Humphreys Center Drive, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East hotel is next to the Memphis business district & has free hot breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. Take the complimentary shuttle service to The Baptist Memorial Hospital or discover great shopping at one of the nearby malls. Explore Shelby Farms or visit Beale Street, Graceland, and Sun Studios just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.