We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage, setting and modern convenience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Invergarry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Invergarry Hotel to your Saves list
Invergarry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inverness-shire | Scottish Highlands, Invergarry PH35 4HJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Heritage, setting and modern convenience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here some 13 odd years ago and the magnificent setting always enticed me to return. The room we were allocated was large and elegant, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was refurbished to a very high standard.

The staff we encountered when we arrived later than anticipated, were helpful and welcoming, even enquiring as to whether we managed to have dinner enroute.

Breakfast options were varied and the setting of the breakfast room is a very beautiful way to greet the day.

I look forward to my next visit!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    77
    13
    4
    13
See reviews for
39
151
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the highlights of the two weeks we spent in Scotland. Very picturesque setting, wonderful food and dedicated staff who truly make the guests welcome. Food was delicious and fresh - every meal was superb. Met many interesting travelers and felt absolutely "at home".

No pool or fitness center - plenty of exercise opportunities outside!

Family, couples or friends or simply a getaway for oneself this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely meal in the Bistro after a walk from the moorings at the ruined castle.
Modern restaurant with an old feel about it. Very inviting. Good choice on the menu.
Standard of cooking reflected in prices but well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here for a bar meal on our way south as we've eaten here before. This time we certainly enjoyed the food we had but thought it was very odd that the chef couldn't cook venison to order. Venison was one of the choices on the menu and we asked for it well done. The waiter explained that it could only be cooked medium-rare. He said that others had asked the chef to cook it more but he wasn't willing to do that. We didn't think to ask if beef also only came as medium rare. Seemed a bit strange that the chef could tell how I liked my meat to be cooked. Anyway, we chose something else instead but it left us feeling we wouldn't hurry back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invergarryhotel, General Manager at Invergarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Venison is exceptionally low in fat and as a result is served rare or medium rare. If it is cooked well done it will be like chewing a leather boot
We are simply trying to ensure you have a nice meal and guide you politely - if it was cooked well done it would not be enjoyable at all.

We have an excellent Chef who is simply trying to ensure you enjoy his food - sometimes you have to trust in someone's expertise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we first laid eyes on this inn, we fell in love with the building. When checking in the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful with all the toiletries and amenities that we could have wanted. The breakfast was beautiful with all the extra toast and coffee you could need. The restaurant was delicious and again a wide selection of choices. The staff also organised a beautiful table display and dessert for my partners birthday which was very kind. The rustic traditional interior and the general.setting of the area was stunning . Over all our time in the highlands were amazing but coming back to the Invergary hotel every evening made it feel like home. I will be returning.

Room Tip: Superior room was great, good tip is to ring up personally to try and get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A rather grand building, and similarly matching interior. The location is very peaceful on the shores of Loch Oich, with pleasant walks along the Loch and around the gardens. The lounge and library are comfortable. Our room on the first floor was a reasonable size, and the en suite was adequate and clean. The service and food were good - but we had the general feeling there is room for improvement in the food. I would probably look around for better value for money - but I don't think there is any competition in the area of a similar quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invergarryhotel, General Manager at Invergarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm afraid this review is not for our Hotel - we are not positioned on Loch Oich and we do not have a library. Perhaps your stay was at neighbouring Hotel - Glengarry Castle Hotel ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with another couple. The rooms were a very high standard and super bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good at dinner with wide choice. Breakfast was fine apart from watery lumpy porridge which was a surprise in Scotland. We would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Invergarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire | Scottish Highlands, Invergarry PH35 4HJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed 4 Star Country Inn nestled in the entrance to Glengarry, in the village of Invergarry. Surrounded by Mountains and set overlooking the beautiful River Garry.All rooms En-suite to an excellent 4 Star standard.Brasserie with excellent food and relaxed dining.Excellent range of Wines, Ales & Malt Whiskies.Roaring Log Fires and Superb Hospitality.A place to unwind and use as a base for touring the Highlands of Scotland with a combination of Warm clean rooms with good facilities, excellent food & warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Invergarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invergarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.