We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Invergarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Invergarry Hotel to your Saves list
Invergarry Hotel
Inverness-shire | Scottish Highlands, Invergarry PH35 4HJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at The Invergarry Hotel for three nights and had a brilliant time.All the staff were exceptionally welcoming . As it was a drive to any restaurants we dined at the hotel and the food and service was excellent. Overall a relxing break and would go back.

Room Tip: When booking I would recommend you choose a classic or superior room as the standard rooms are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    73
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
39
143
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We would stay at this hotel again. The staff were delightful and very helpful. The room was well-appointed and comfortable and we appreciated tea on arrival. The food in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you book as the hotel filled up very quickly in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent considerable time deliberating over where to stay in the area, as there appears to be are a number of good hotels. However, we opted for Invergarry and we were not disappointed. The staff were incredibly obliging, nothing was too much trouble and every request was greeted with a smile. They even let us dry off our wet walking gear in the boiler room. The bedroom was well appointed and spotless; the resident's lounge very cosy with a fabulous log fire and comfortable seating. The restaurant food was really well cooked and there was plenty of variety. The breakfast was excellent, a wide choice to cater for many different tastes. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on having set out from Pitlochry early in the morning. We drove to Inverness and then did all the sites down the west side of Loch Ness, Urqhart castle, Loch Ness exhibition, Fort Augustus etc. We stopped for dinner in the nice restaurant there as it was too late to continue to the Isle of Skye as we had intended. The lady on reception was very welcoming however the bar and restaurant staff could have been friendlier. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are new. In the close vicinity are beautiful river walks and people are welcome to walk in the grounds of Glengarry Castle which is worth doing. Overall we had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrive to a warm welcome, log fires and a luxury room. The restaurant food of a very high standard and the menu and wine list cater for everyone. My husband and I enjoyed a one night stay while traveling Scotland and arrived without pre-booking late evening. Nothing was a problem and the staff made us feel at home. The hotel is clean, warm and friendly we would have loved to stay longer and plan to return. Room 2 has beautiful views, soft towels and a bed so comfy to sleep in we almost missed the traditional Scottish breakfast. Well worth an excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

One of our favourite places to stay in the Highlands. Well furnished and very comfortable bedrooms. Exceptionably friendly staff.

The bar serves a few real ales and the food is excellent.

We often head out hillwalking before breakfast, but when at Invergarry we stay and enjoy the waffles.

Wish there were a few more Invergarrys around Scotland. We'll certainly keep going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stopped for a coffee en-route to Inverness around 11 am, and was met with a very abrupt and rude 'welcome' which felt like; 'what do you want disturbing us at this time of day?'

We were pointed towards the bar where my Italian travelling partner felt a lack of patience from the barmaid, who forced her into a choice before I arrived, without leaving her time to decide on her own.

We sat down and waited far too long for 2 capuccinos (one of which was already prepared when I entered). I found the breakfast menu quite expensive so we decided to pass on that. The coffee was reasonably good.

When we went to pay, we were informed that as the bill was under £10 I would be charged an extra £1. I said this should be written up somewhere, whereupon the barmaid pointed out a tiny printed scrap of paper sellotaped behind the bar in a small font, which not many people would have been able to notice. When I said if the notice is so small she should have informed us, she said STROPPILY that she didn't know that I was going to pay by card...

As I work in hospitality I know that one gets tired at the end of a busy season, but I manage to be polite and accommodating with all my guests despite this.

The Hotel should review its staff, because I stopped for a coffee, but who knows if I wanted to stay for the night; or for longer. That barmaid should have been mor polite and understanding when explaining herself.

With that attitude from the staff, the Hotel is going to lose custom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invergarryhotel, Owner at Invergarry Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Rolling my eyes !

I actually witnessed the way you spoke to my staff member and I'd say your review is just a "tad" distorted.The waitress you have referred to is one of the most placid and lovely people here and is fantastic with dealing with people.

I think anyone reading this review will have to balance your one page essay about 2 coffees versus 138 outstanding reviews about lovely staff and the fact that you like boasting that your from "in the trade"

I wonder which I would believe ?

Really ............. This is the Highlands........... your supposed to be on holiday and relaxed...................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Invergarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire | Scottish Highlands, Invergarry PH35 4HJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed 4 Star Country Inn nestled in the entrance to Glengarry, in the village of Invergarry. Surrounded by Mountains and set overlooking the beautiful River Garry.All rooms En-suite to an excellent 4 Star standard.Brasserie with excellent food and relaxed dining.Excellent range of Wines, Ales & Malt Whiskies.Roaring Log Fires and Superb Hospitality.A place to unwind and use as a base for touring the Highlands of Scotland with a combination of Warm clean rooms with good facilities, excellent food & warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Invergarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invergarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.