We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and welcoming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomdoun Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invergarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomdoun Hotel
Save
You added Tomdoun Hotel to your Saves list
Invergarry PH35 4HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique and welcoming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Its unsuprising that the Tomdoun seems to polarise opinion amongst reviewers. it really is as far from a mediocre hotel stay as one could imagine and hearks back to an era of quirky shining-esque hotels with squeeky floorboards, bibulous staff and a full complement of ghosts...

The owner and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, this is a place to come to to escape mobile phones, huddle by an open fire and quaff a good breakfast wine. they have a good cook, committed to local produce so the deer groaning through the night in the mountains above may well end up on your plate a few days later. the woods abound with mushrooms also, perhaps another good reason to return in the Autumn.

I would say that this is not a hotel for enthusiasts of fine plumbing and scented towels, however the room was clean and the view from it over the Loch quite spectacular.

a real ace up the sleeve of the Tomdoun is the local Gillie Mike, for around £100 a day he'll escort you, kit included, on a fishing trip to catch local monster wild brown trout, from boat or bank, or some very goodly proportioned Pike. if you stay at the hotel you can fish the waters infront of it for free - some really exceptional wild trout fishing.

I cam here with my bride of two days and our 10 week old with a level of fear that a gruff sporting hotel might be the worst place to have landed. we we really pleasantly suprised. The Tom Doun is a gem, long may it last.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I love this hotel. Lovely surroundings and so peacefull. The staff are so friendly and helpull and the food is amazing. I went over New year and my parents go a coupld of times a year. Ideal place for a Scottish break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed one night for DB+B. Very friendly. Fantastic old shooting lodge but very dated. Shared bathroom, no showers, no tea and coffee facilities, no TVs in rooms but TV lounge and plenty of papers to read. Fantastic location. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of days while solo hiking in the area. The stunning tranquil setting , great cuisine and friendly staff made my stay very enjoyable. This traditional Hotel has a charm and a wonderful atmosphere.

Nothing was too much trouble for the host Mike and his staff.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Spent one night here for my daughters wedding absolutely fantastic from first discussing the days events after a visit the day before the staff made everything so easy for my wife and i A family of 18 were all looked after in glorious surroundings by a very attentive host Mike who advised but was never over intrusive and gave the day an even better feel followed by a suberb evening in the bar area supervised by Zoltan Thank you The hotel itself whilst not exactly 5 star is perfect for those who want a way from it all experience in the remote Scottish highlands its almost quirky but that is its great attraction Great place Great food Great everything

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We arrived for Dinner at 6.30 am having seen their hugh sign stating 'dinner now being served' just before the hotel. We are a family of four with a sixteen and five year old plus us two oldies and we were greeted by two growling, barking black dogs (not the legendarry Black dog of Tornacarry) that had to be called back so we could get in, luckily we have dogs so not scared, the man who was in the reception looked at us has if we had just dropped in from Mars!! We told him we would like dinner and he said they had "no room in there" and we would have to eat in the dinning room?, and that we would have to wait while he set up, we had no problem with that and stood where we were left, a young woman walked past and looked at us like we had just walked into 'local shop for local people' from Royston Vaisy. The man reappeared and said "you know we don't start serving dinner until 7.30", we obviously left. No disrespect to the Highland folk as this chap was obviously not an Highlander!!. Felt like taking their 'dinner now being served' sign with us has the next place to eat is 8 miles away. If you would like a true highland warm welcome don't bother driving out to the middle of nowhere even if the views are spectacular has from our experience you won't get it here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is beautifully situated in the middle of the Highlands on the former road to Kyle of Lochalsh. It has forests, hills and lochs close by. It possesses a beautiful dining room with a nice living room just next to it, along with a bar with a large choice of whiskeys. The rooms are on the first floor and quite diverse. There is some going to the front with a beautiful view and some to the side without, these are cheaper. All rooms have private bathroom some of them not en suite.
On the positive side food is excellent and value for money, I cannot understand why it is criticized by some here. The water is delicious and has typical Scottish colour not to be worried about. The ambiance in the bar is cosy and so are the rooms. Some might say they need refurbishment, I agree with those saying that they are charming, although some of them might be a bit on the small side.
On the negative side I found bathrooms could be cleaner. Also wines at the restaurant are a bit overrated concerning their price. Portions are a bit small for those returning from the hills.
Overall this hotel is ideal for those who wish to spend time close to nature and still stay in a comfortable hotel. Those expecting modern style, animal dislikers and mobile phone internet television addicts should abstain. Most recommended for its most charming traditional atmosphere, nature and its dog friendliness. I would certainly return. I hope the hotel character will be preserved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomdoun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomdoun Hotel

Address: Invergarry PH35 4HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tomdoun Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomdoun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.