We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Invergarry Hotel

Invergarry Hotel
A87, Invergarry, Scotland
01809501206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Invergarry
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant attached to a hotel
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice place, management seriously bad attitude. As if they are doing us a favour. Photo is very misleading as there is a road between hotel and river

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had an evening meal here whilst on a recent trip to Scotland. My initial reaction when I looked at the menu was "wow. this place is expensive". However, there isn't really anywhere else in invergarry so decided to eat there anyway. There isn't a main course on the menu for under £16. I had the belly pork which was nice although not exceptional for the price. Had a pint of their local beer which was good but at nearly £4 a pint, also very expensive. The desert was very nice but at nearly £7, again very expensive. Good food but you wouldn't get a 3 course meal here with a drink for under £35. Ok for a special occasion but not for an everyday meal out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Bread ... Good Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is conveniently located between Skye and nowhere, so if you're looking for a bite or rest, this is it. Cozy, with a fire going on an autumn day. Attractive dining area and friendly staff. The cask beer was excellent and well-served. The bread with our hit-the-spot lentil soup was warm and fresh from the oven. Other sandwiches looked generous. Everything was over-priced, but you have to expect that in a place this remote. Just be glad this is there as an option. In the end you'll remember the good lunch. You'll forget the extra pound or two it cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor mans ploughmans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped here on our way back from Skye for lunch knowing we had a long day ahead of us. The hotel looked very appealing with a Trip Adviser logo, and had a 4 star rating with the Scottish Tourist Board. We ordered Lunch. Haggis, Neeps and Tatties which was satisfactory but a bit pricey and a Ploughmans priced at just under £12. This must have been the most miserly Ploughmans in the whole of Scotland, and it did not live up to expectations from the menu's description. Selection of hand carved hams, Scottish cheeses, pickles with homemade bread and butter. If the hams were hand carved, I admire the chef's knife work, the hams looked as though they were carved with a razor blade, there was a meagre slice of ham and an equally meagre slice of parmaham. The selection of cheeses, this was a slither of cheddar and a triangle of brie based on the size of a dairylea triangle but slightly smaller. The bread was equivalent to crisp bread and when you attempted to spread some butter on this it disintegrated. I will say that chef excelled with the pickles giving a selection from three, yes that generous - three, different jars.

We did complain, however we were still presented with the bill for the full price and grudgingly stumped up. Needless to say we won't be back, it goes to show that appearances and ratings can be deceptive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

While driving toward Isle of Skye we stopped in this hotel for late lunch. unfortunately, there was a no vacancy sign, therefore we enjoy our lunch and continued to look for another b&b.
The service in the dining room was warm and their food came quick and very tasty. I must admit that this was the first time i ordered fish and chips , it was just great. My daughters asked for somehow an Italian food. Let me tell you clearly, macaroni and cheese IS NOT an Italian food.However, their burgers were fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Invergarry Hotel also viewed

Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Invergarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invergarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.