We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope it improves could be so much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arisaig Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arisaig Hotel to your Saves list
Arisaig Hotel
Inverness-shire, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Tayport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hope it improves could be so much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Apart from the warm and friendly welcome on arrival from a lovely young English girl at reception not much else to praise, the setting is picture perfect, the weather was great, lets hope the new owners quickly get this venture right, start with Breakfast, not that hard to put a highland fry together but must be easier to drown it in oil! Bad enough having to wait best part of 30 mins then receive saturated black pudding, sausage, mushrooms the lot... To be fair the scrambled egg was ok, cold toast and watery coffee.. It's not rocket science sort out the breakfast service. Day 2 it took 50 minutes to get scrambled egg sausage and beans on toast only to get the toast separate, Day 3 enjoyed a lie in thanks mainly by being awoken at 3 am by the noisey neighbours the gardeners who stayed on weds night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This area is idyllic given the weather when we were there ,we had a stunning view from the hotel and all types of walk right on the doorstep . We chose to go over to the Small Isles by boat one day and the ferry terminal is two minutes from the hotel .
We had one of their superior rooms which was very spacious and comfortable with tasteful soft furnishing , the bathroom was also good, fresh and clean.Breakfast was perfect and served efficiently .
The young staff here were invariably pleasant and helpful and we only had one hiccup with service when they lost our order for dinner in the bar which was the casual dining option , however they were most apologetic and made amends with free coffee to make up for our wait which truth be told was not a terrible misdemeanour given the lively opportunities to people watch the other clientele who varied in age from 6 months to 85, all good natured and happy despite the slow arrival of meals generally the quality was okay but not exceptional , it was well priced however.
I would stay here again as I loved the location and did not allow enough time to do everything on offer. Our stay at the hotel was a good one.
Scotland is the most wonderful holiday destination on earth when the weather is good .

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front for the view, still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Although we really enjoyed our stay here it is in need of a freshen up and although our heater didn't work we weren't fussed. Was very disappointed with the food though. Appears all the restaurants have a similar menu and was hoping for the real Scottish local cuisine. There wasn't much on the menu for a coastal fishing area as I was really looking forward to some seafood.....fish and chips doesn't count. It is very expensive considering there is only a bath and no showers and breakfast time frame is very short and the serves are really small so if your hungry be specific in how much you want...don't left the frown put you off as you only get a limited menu.
Staff are just lovely and a few seem to do all the work and run about constantly trying to keep everyone happy. Hope this doesn't go unnoticed by management.
Great location but think I would try self contained next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only visit this hotel if you like 60's furniture, 80's fresco wallpaper, cracked bedroom window, cracked wash hand basin & unflushable toilet. Having said that the staff were friendly!
Very expensive over priced version of Fawlty Towers without the fun of meeting Basil & Sybil...

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I highly recommend the restaurant in this hotel. Friendly service and good quality local Scottish fare. Try the spiced crab starter, excellent! The view from the restaurant compliments the experience. If you are passing through or staying in the area don't miss out. Kean prices too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have never been to the West Coast of Scotland before but decided to visit Arisaig as we'd heard from friends that it's a beautiful place .We decided to stay at the hotel as it's situated in village and close to the local shops. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our room . The room itself was clean and nice but the wall paper needs updating. We decided to have dinner in the bar on our first night as it was getting late and menu looked good. The food was excellent - my husband had the scallops to start which were delicious and I had the mussels which were also scrumptious. We managed to squeeze in main and dessert, both equally as good. We enjoyed the food so much we decided to eat there on two more occasions. We had no problems with the service and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They also have a good selection of real ales both in bottles and on draught. We managed to work our way through the selection and can recommend the Syke beer- Dark Island . We enjoyed our boat trip to Eigg and spending the day exploring the Island and eating bacon rolls from the Tea Shop ( very good). I would also recommend a visit to Camusdarach beach in the evening to see the most beautiful sunsets. All in all we had a great time and will be back to the West Coast next year. If you are ever in the area we would recommend a stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely and big and has the best views of Arisaig Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Arisaig hotel has recently change ownership and after a few years of indifferent food, it was great to get a nice lunch from friendly and helpful staff from the new people at the helm. We will go again as they have a great selection of fresh seafood and real ales.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arisaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arisaig Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arisaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arisaig Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arisaig Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.