We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Library Lodge And Restaurant to your Saves list
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend in Arisaig. We stayed just one night in The Old Library and have to say I was very impressed (and that is not easily done) Robert is a fantastic host and his food was Amazing. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting this area.
Thanks Robert & hopefully see u again soon mate.

Room Tip: Robert does have 2 rooms at the front but we stayed to the back of the property which was fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
134
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The restaurant here is deservedly popular so if we hadn't booked our dinner at the same time as we booked our room, we wouldn't have been able to dine. To be in a full dining room at 1900 on a Monday is unusual in most places but apparently not here. The waiting staff coped superbly with the small but full dining room keeping things moving with quiet efficiency.
Our room was in the annexe overlooking the amazing sheltered garden. It is amazing because it feels more like a garden in Madeira than one in North-west Scotland. The room was well equipped and comfortable.
Sadly we only stayed one night but we hope to return for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my partner went for a 5 day break up to Arisaig and stayed at The Old Library Lodge and Restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the kindness of the locals but most of all the accomodatiion, food and hospitallty of the hotel, the staff were very helpful and the menu is to die for and I'm going to get Robert to email me his sticky toffee pudding recipe... please!! highly recommended.

Our room was at the front giving us a sea view and the room was spotless and the room maid always kept it that way, Robert the owner is so friendly and makes you feel so welcome.

The attractions/natural scenery around Arisaig are too many to mention but will take your breath away, travelling through the mountains and glens then finding beaches you would only find in tropical resorts, outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in Arisaig and the surrounding area on many many occasions, probably half a dozen times at the Old Library. Last week we departed Arisaig heading to Skye for a meal at the Three Chimneys we'd been given as a gift. We had joked with owner and chef Robbie that we doubted that their puddings could be any better than his and despite having a tremendous experience at the Three Chimneys, we are pleased to be able to report that his puddings are as good, if not better, than they are there. The food at the Library is generally very good so perhaps we shouldn't be surprised. The rooms are good too and the staff are a very friendly and warm bunch who couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Old Library for four nights earlier this month. Arisaig really is a beautiful place. As soon as we arrived we were made welcome and throughout our stay Robert and his staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we had one of the sea view rooms. The view from the room was outstanding, looking out across the bay. We had dinner in the restaurant every night and the food was excellent with very attentive service. The local area offers up some lovely walks and Arisaig is close to some of the most beautiful beaches imaginable. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A superb place to relax and unwind after our long journey from Wales before going over to the Small Isles.
Robert and Mary-Ann have the perfect balance with superb rooms and the most amazing food. We have stayed twice now and enjoyed the garden rooms and one of the sea view rooms as well. The food Robert creates is hard to beat with superb fresh local produce including game and seafood.
A brilliant find and hard to beat!!!

Room Tip: All room's are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for one night and didn't want to leave. When we arrived our room was not quite ready so we sat outside on the terrace and had some lunch - wow - booked for dinner straight away. Our room overlooked the garden and had a terrace which was great as we had our wee dog with us. The owner, Robert, was really friendly and the staff were very helpful - the atmosphere was professional but relaxed, if that makes sense.
This is a small 'Inn' rather than a fancy hotel but the room was very well presented, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed - I really loved the place and we will be back.
Dinner is not to be missed - local seafood, beautifully cooked by Robert, one of the best meals I have had. He really is a very talented chef and a great host.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was spacious and had a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Library Lodge And Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.