We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A message for Robbie. Yes, your puddings are as good if not better than those at the Three Chimney's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Library Lodge And Restaurant to your Saves list
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A message for Robbie. Yes, your puddings are as good if not better than those at the Three Chimney's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have stayed in Arisaig and the surrounding area on many many occasions, probably half a dozen times at the Old Library. Last week we departed Arisaig heading to Skye for a meal at the Three Chimneys we'd been given as a gift. We had joked with owner and chef Robbie that we doubted that their puddings could be any better than his and despite having a tremendous experience at the Three Chimneys, we are pleased to be able to report that his puddings are as good, if not better, than they are there. The food at the Library is generally very good so perhaps we shouldn't be surprised. The rooms are good too and the staff are a very friendly and warm bunch who couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    46
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
140
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Old Library for four nights earlier this month. Arisaig really is a beautiful place. As soon as we arrived we were made welcome and throughout our stay Robert and his staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we had one of the sea view rooms. The view from the room was outstanding, looking out across the bay. We had dinner in the restaurant every night and the food was excellent with very attentive service. The local area offers up some lovely walks and Arisaig is close to some of the most beautiful beaches imaginable. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A superb place to relax and unwind after our long journey from Wales before going over to the Small Isles.
Robert and Mary-Ann have the perfect balance with superb rooms and the most amazing food. We have stayed twice now and enjoyed the garden rooms and one of the sea view rooms as well. The food Robert creates is hard to beat with superb fresh local produce including game and seafood.
A brilliant find and hard to beat!!!

Room Tip: All room's are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for one night and didn't want to leave. When we arrived our room was not quite ready so we sat outside on the terrace and had some lunch - wow - booked for dinner straight away. Our room overlooked the garden and had a terrace which was great as we had our wee dog with us. The owner, Robert, was really friendly and the staff were very helpful - the atmosphere was professional but relaxed, if that makes sense.
This is a small 'Inn' rather than a fancy hotel but the room was very well presented, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed - I really loved the place and we will be back.
Dinner is not to be missed - local seafood, beautifully cooked by Robert, one of the best meals I have had. He really is a very talented chef and a great host.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was spacious and had a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a find! Super comfortable accommodation in beautiful Arisaig coupled with Robert's first class cheffing skills. A marriage made in heaven. The dining room is a welcoming place where each diner is made to feel comfortable about taking time over a good meal. There is a small but good wine list and a menu so good choice is difficult. I thought I had decided until I saw one dish after the other appear that made me change my mind. The produce is local and each dish is made skill and obvious love. No wonder you must book to get a table here. Go to Arisaig and enjoy a memorable experience. First class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here in July for one night and were blessed with the sunshine. Robert was very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed our meal very much. The room was clean and attractively decorated- not too fussy- plain white bedsheets and very restful. We had a sea view which was lovely. I was slighlty concerned about food as I was pregnant but Robert reassured me and food seemed to be cooked to order so there were no problems there. Went to the beach where Local Hero was filmed and enjoyed some time sunbathing and paddling. We didn't see the otter unfortunately on our walk from the Old Library but was enjoyable all the same. Would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay at the Old Library recently. Superb food and accommodation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Robert a wonderful host, full of good humour and a great chef. Position on front superb and lots of nearby walks - would recommend the 'Rhu House' walk from village. Will. definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Library Lodge And Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.