We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Croft B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyside Croft B&B
2 Bunacaimbe, Arisaig PH39 4NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Arisaig B&B and Inns
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

As the title says, it really doesn't get any better than this !
Having had the pleasure of a stay in the stunning B&B we decided to try the fantastic campsite that Sunnyside Croft has newly opened.
As expected the standard is every bit as high as the B&B, 5 star facilities within a beautifully laid out site.

Hard standings for caravans and motorhomes.
Grass pitches for tenters.
EHU by £1 cards.
Immaculate toilets and showers with hairdryers....all free to use.
Locked laundry area with washing machine, dryer, ironing board and even washing tablets for a small fee.
Active recycling on site.
Rubbish bins emptied daily.
Chemical waste disposal point.
Motorhome waste dump and fresh water fill up area.
Clearly marked fresh water taps.
Covered seating area.
Covered dishwashing area.
Microwave and ice pack freezer.
Reception and shop with all the basics as well as a good supply of locally sourced produce.
Ian and Julie have clearly spend a long time thinking out the best way to give the weary traveller an experience to remember when creating this Nirvana in the Highlands.

The adjacent Bunacaimbe beach is the perfect place to paddle, swim or canoe from as well as great for kids to go rock pooling or simply build sand castles.
I'm sure there are lots of other things I've forgot to mention but I'm still on such a high from my wonderful stay here.
The main thing that will stick in my memory is the warm welcome and continuing attentiveness of the owners.
Does it get any better than this ? No !
Have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here in May for a wedding after a personal recommendation.

The location , views and room are every bit as good as the reviews say.

Everything shows real attention to detail and quality - from the immaculate finishings and great breakfast and home baking right down to the Linn stereo playing the music at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Travelling with a friend on our first camping trip was an over 50's adventure to say the least but our stay at Sunniside has either eased us in gently to the camping life or spoilt us rotten! It was a pleasure to see the owners taking such pride in what they do and offer and you can see they work jolly hard to provide outstanding facilities which are kept spotless at all times. Our pitch was great - overlooking the sea where sunsets are amazing. I suspect that following inevitable rave reviews in the future, this will become a popular spot. where you will have to book beforehand. We will be back again not only because we like the area but also because we feel this site cannot be bettered. Incidentally, my daughter was camping at the same time in Glencoe and stayed at the Red Squirrel campsite. As she was paying the same amount of money for less facilities, we know we hit lucky with Sunniside. The great pub on the hill (Cnoc na Faire?) did brilliant pub grub and where staff were also friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Such a beautiful spot and the most amazing b&b room I think we've ever had, such a good use of the space and incredibly relaxing.

Julie & Ian were utterly charming and attentive but in no way intrusive and provided a genuinely delicious, imaginative breakfast.

We stayed just one night before getting the ferry to the Isle of Skye but wish we'd booked for longer; looking forward to the completition of their luxury self catering cottage already!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is undoubtedly the best B&B we've ever stayed in. The location is superb with the most fantastic views of the sea and isles of Eigg and Rum. Access to the beach and sea is an easy 30 second walk.

The cosy king sized bed allows you to have your cuppa in bed whilst enjoying the views. The large glass windows can be opened to let in the sunshine or fresh air and to take the armchairs out onto the decking area. There is a private dressing area with plenty of storage and a luxurious shower room.

The breakfast was superb. There is something nice about having your own private breakfast room. The food was excellent. We tried both the full Scottish breakfast (loads of local Scottish food - not for the lightweight) and the continental breakfast (a lovely mix of Scottish meats, cheeses, bread and croissants) all of this supplemented with cereal, porridge, juice and tea/coffee.

Julie and Ian are incredibly hospitable people who are doing a superb job with all that they offer at Sunnyside and we will certainly return for the camping (undoubtedly the best facilities for camping in Arisaig) and hopefully the self-catering accommodation too.

My expectations of Sunnyside were high and were fulfilled in every respect. You'd have to be a really picky person not to think this was a great place.

Room Tip: There is only one room for B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a gem! This campsite was everything we wanted. Superb facilities, splendid views and fantastic owners. We spent 4 nights at Sunnyside and my only regret was not being able to stay longer. The new purpose built toilet and shower block is well designed and kept spotlessly clean. The inclusion of a family bathroom and the covered seating area show how much thought has gone into the needs of campers. Ian and Julie and their family were very friendly, I think Julie smilied the whole time and extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble. There is also a small shop seling local produce, including meat from their own cattle- the sausages and beefburgers were among some of the best I've tasted. This site has only been open a couple of weeks but I will be booking early for next year because it will become very popular as the best site in Arisaig! Can't wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset Village
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a cut above the average B & B worthy of high praise all thanks to the hard work by Julie & Ian. The guest room is segregated from the main house & includes a large dressing area with his & hers wardrobes and the stylishly decorated walk-in shower room. The panoramic view from the king size comfortable bed or easy chair is "to die for" - grassy sand dunes merge into the clean sandy shore lapped by the clear blue sea stretching to The Isles (Eigg Muck & Rum) on the horizon.
Julie prepared our breakfast to exact requirements including tasty eggs from either Meany Minny or Mo complemented with coffee just as we make it at home. We loved every minute of our all too short stay as anyone would in this beautiful location.
If you are within 50 miles do not miss the chance to stay here and just like us you will return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnyside Croft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Croft B&B

Address: 2 Bunacaimbe, Arisaig PH39 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Arisaig
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Croft Hotel Arisaig
Sunnyside Croft Bed And Breakfast
Sunnyside Croft B&B Arisaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Croft B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Croft B&B to your Saves list